Good Shepherd, St Alban’s take over

Good Shepherd Primary and St Alban’s Primary are the new queens and kings of the Andrea Blackett Zone after the National Primary Schools Athletics Championship (NAPSAC) continued today at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex.

Sponsored by Rubis, this zone had 15 participating schools and last year’s champions Selah Primary in the girls and St Cyprian’s in the boys were both made to settle for second place this time around on a day when the sun was hot and 11 records shattered.

In the girls points standings, Good Shepherd totalled 204.50 points and convincingly dethroned Selah who scored 146 for second ahead of St Joseph Primary with a commendable display on track for third position with 132 points. St Alban’s comfortably secured fourth spot with 116 points and St Lawrence Primary with 85.50 rounded out the top five.

The race for bragging rights in the boys standings was as exciting as it could get between St Alban’s who accumulated 253 points to upset 2017 boys champions St Cyprian’s who scored 229 points for second. Good Shepherd were third on 189 with the fourth place finisher being Selah Primary on 122 and Ignatius Boyer Primary with 87 points in fifth place.

There was a tie for victor ludorum between Under-nine speedster Eliezer Williams of St Alban’s and Jayden Cummins of Good Shepherd in the Under-11. Both tallied 28 points for the coveted individual prize.

Joint victor ludorum Eliezer Williams of St Alban’s Primary powering his way to victory in the Under-nine Boys 150m.
Joint victor ludorum Jayden Cummins of Good Shepherd Primary won his heat of the Under-11 Boys 200m.

This zone that bears the name of Barbados former top hurdler always produces a number of records each year and this time around it was no different.

Williams broke two records in the Under-nine Boys Division. First he began with the 80m clocking 11.74 seconds running out of lane six. The long strides of the talented young man extended for 21.97 seconds in the 150m. Unfortunately, he was second with a 3.45m leap in the long jump behind the 3.58m produced by Cayden Thornhill.

Cummins on the other hand missed out on erasing two records in the long jump and 100m. Cummins jumped 4.32m and was just short of the 4.33m record. He then ran five split seconds (14.12) outside the 14.07 mark set last year by Amari Forde of St Cyprian’s Boys’. Cummins had the second best time of 29.62 seconds behind the 29.35 seconds delivered by Isaiah Marshall of St Alban’s.

(L-r) Amari Forde of St Cyprian’s Boys settling for second behind Shamari ‘Supa Mari’ Addison of St Alban’s in what was a record-breaking run in the 200m. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay).

There was no sharing of the victrix ludorum title which was captured by Zarina Williams of Good Shepherd who accumulated 28 points and barely edged Imani Firebrace of St Joseph Primary by two points for Under-13 Girls honours.

Victrix ludorum Zarina Williams of Good Shepherd Primary striding comfortably to victory in the Under-13 Girls 200m.
Imani Firebrace clocked the fastest time in the Girls 600m open for St Joseph Primary.

Williams won her heat of the 200m in 28.67 seconds and was five split seconds outside the 28.62 record set by Aaliyah Agard of Ignatius Byer. She also won the long jump with a 4.22m mark and clocked the second fastest time of 1:09.85 behind the 1:07.15 of Firebrace who also ran a stirring 600m to finish way ahead the field in 1:54.44.

St Joseph Primary’s athletes performed very well especially the girls and Keira Phillips was part of that success in the Under-nine category. She had the fastest 80m time of 13 seconds flat but was second in the 100m (16.76) and 150m (24.48). Kimara Blackett of St Lawrence Primary won both the 100m and 150m in 15.22 and 22.99 seconds respectively.

The Under-13 Boys Division was a neverending battle between Shamari ‘Supa Mari’ Addison and St Cyprian’s pair of Jayden Green and Amari Forde. Both Green and Addison tied on 26 points in that age group.

Green set a new high jump record of 1.31m along with Riched Cumberbatch of St Alban’s, going over the same height while Oliver Gooding of Good Shepherd and Omari Belgrave equalled the former 1.25m record.

Green, Addison and Forde all clocked under the 100m record time of 13.63 seconds with Green being the most impressive, stopping the clock at 13.11 seconds, Addison 13.28 and Forde 13.38.

Addison and Forde were placed in the same heat of the 200m and they went neck and neck which resulted in a recordbreaking performance. The time to beat was 27.90 seconds and Addison touched down first in 27.33 ahead of Forde who ran 27.45.

Amara Harewood ruled proceedings in the Under-11 Girls Division. Harewood came close to breaking the Girls 100m and 200m record.

Amara Harewood of St Alban’s Primary blazed the track to win both the Under-11 100m and 200m.

For the 100m sprint, she clocked the fastest heat time of 14.76 seconds, and ran 30 seconds flat in the 200m but had to settle for fourth in the long jump which was won by Sasia Alfred of Selah Primary with a 3.26m distance just ahead of schoolmate Rashanna Burnett-Cave at 3.21m.

Two records fell in the Under-seven Girls age group. Taryn Brathwaite of Selah Primary sped to 9.22 seconds in the 50m dash, erasing the previous mark of 9.28 seconds. Elena Lynch of Good Shepherd leaped 1.38m in the standing broad jump, one meter further than the old mark of 1.37m.

However it was Shakyla Headley of St Alban’s with 22 points and Keidon Waterman with 16 for St Cyprian’s Boys who dominated the Under-seven Girls and Boys respectively.

Today’s activity climaxed with the Under-13 Boys 4x100m between eventual winners St Cyprian’s anchored by Green in 55.85 seconds ahead of the 56.12 ran by St Alban. Both schools ran under the 57.26 seconds record. The Girls team for St Alban’s also set a new time of 1:00.88 in the 4x100m.

One Response to Good Shepherd, St Alban’s take over

  1. Sam clarke February 16, 2018 at 1:54 pm

    Congrats to Good Shepherd.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *