Top writers get FCLA awards

It was a ladies’ evening last night when women swept away the top prizes given out for exemplary prose as the Frank Collymore Literary Awards celebrated its 20th anniversary of formally recognising the work of outstanding writers.

Not for the first time in the two decades of these awards, the panel of judges found no entry worthy of 1st prize, and Heather Barker picked up the 2nd prize with her collection of stories, highlighted by a piece titled, ‘The Plundering’.

Sonia Williams won the 3rd prize, which is also based on a collection, but in this instance it was poems under the shared title, ‘Her Bald Head Luminous’.

Shakirah Bourne copped the Prime Minister’s Award, a special prize for the top writer among those who put Barbados in a new, unexpected or unusual light. Her story is ‘Getting Back at Jack Taylor’.

From left, 3rd prize winner, Sonia Williams; 2nd prize winner, Heather Barker; Governor of the Central Bank that sponsors the awards, Cleviston Haynes; Prime Minister’s Award winner, Shakirah Bourne; Ministry of Culture Director of Cultural Policy, Sheron Johnson; and FCLA chairman of panel of judges, Antonio Rudder.

4 Responses to Top writers get FCLA awards

  1. Steven Layne
    Steven Layne January 7, 2018 at 3:50 pm

    Good luck to you all,

  2. Krystle Howell
    Krystle Howell January 7, 2018 at 4:00 pm

    Would be helpful to know where you could purchase copies of the literary pieces.

  3. luther thorne January 7, 2018 at 10:04 pm

    Somebody needs to nominate Boo Rudder for some form of recognition. Man still contributing to Barbados in varied and myriad ways.

  4. seagul January 8, 2018 at 8:40 am

    Gratulations and prosperity towards the future. The beauty of inspiration and hope… Our Isle, not only is a recreational, relaxing mirror but also a genuine hospitality and a treasured stimulating culture.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *