Most outstanding male and female footballers recognized

Barbados’ most outstanding male and female footballers were recognized for their 2017 performances when the Barbados Football Association (BFA) held its awards ceremony this past Friday night at the BFA Astro Turf in Wildey, St Michael.

In the presence of BFA President, Randolph Harris, newly elected President of the Barbados Olympic Association, Sandra Osborne and representative for title sponsor, Digicel, Sonia Hall- Hunte, national players Zeco Edmee of Clayton’s Kola Tonic Notre Dame and Rianna Cyrus of University of the West Indies (UWI) Blackbirds were respectively named male and female, Senior Players of the Year.

Senior Male Player of the Year Zeco Edmee of Claytons Kola Tonic Notre Dame received his trophy from BFA Senior Vice President Captain Al Walcott.

Edmee, one of this island’s top forward also captured most goals of 16 for the 2017 season.

Senior Female Player of the Year from University of the West Indies Blackbirds Rianna Cyrus all smile as she received her award from BFA Technical Director Ahmed Mohammed.

The Junior Male and Female Players of the Year were Dishon Howell of Pro Shottas and Caitlin Padmore of UWI.

Champions of the Digicel Premier League, Weymouth Wales took home a fair share of the awards up for grab, as they captured Coach of the Year through David Ward and manager of the year which went to Alphonso Lewis.

Wales Club also walk away with two individual awards when Hadan Holligan cop the trophy for best midfielder and Omari Eastmond with a fantastic season won most outstanding goalkeeper. Shane Codrington of Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme was the best defender.

Newly crowned Women’s League Champions, UWI also had a good year and their players were well rewarded when three national players each receiving an award. In addition to being Senior Female footballer of the Year, Cyrus secured the best midfielder award, Shonna Evelyn was adjudged the best defenders and Cadijah Mars as the most outstanding goalkeeper. Felicia Jarvis of Mavericks scored most goals of 20.

The referees were also recognized and assistant referee, Kevon Clarke who is a FIFA selectee for 2018 is Junior Referee of the Year while Edwin Adams collected the Senior Referee Award.

One Response to Most outstanding male and female footballers recognized

  1. Kearn Williams
    Kearn Williams December 18, 2017 at 9:10 am

    I love d outfit. Would like to borrow that skirt


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *