St George South champions

Most Valuable Player, Romario Watson, along with Dario Harewood gave St George South a reason to pop the champagne as they scored in either half to help their side retain the David Thompson Memorial Constituency Football Classic title, with a deserving 2-0 victory over St Andrew yesterday at Kensington Oval.

St George South celebrate their capture of the David Thompson Memorial Constituency Football Classic title.

Watson scored in the 37th minute to hand the reiging champions a 1-0 lead at half-time and Harewood added a second in the 58th, to quell any chance of a St Andrew comeback.

Midfielder Romario Watson scores the opening goal against St Andrew as custodian Bentley Springer puts in a despairing dive.
MVP Romario Watson.

The repeat success for St George South saw them join The City (2011, 2012) and Christ Church East Central (2013, 2015) as the teams clinching two titles in the popular tournament.

St George South head coach, Ian Ifill, told Barbados TODAY afterwards that hard work at training had been the key ingredient towards the team’s success.

“We [stuck] to the game plan which was putting pressure on their ball carrier so they [couldn’t] play those long balls, and shutting down the opponents early and not allowing them to play the ball forward,” said Ifill, who has coached the side for the past three years.

For their efforts, St George South walked away with the cash prize of $30 000 and the Classic trophy while St Andrew, who impressively went unbeaten in seven matches en route to the final, took home the losers prize of $20 000.

To add insult to injury, they also lost defender Justin White four minutes from the end after he picked up a second yellow card.

St Andrew displayed a high level of attacking intensity in the opening five minutes but then slowly faded as St George asserted control of the game to dominate the remainder of the half.

Their enterprise paid dividends eight minutes from the break when midfielder Watson took possession, controlled beautifully from the left of the 18-yard box and beat custodian, Bentley Springer, low to his right.

The scoreline remained intact at the half leaving St Andrew with much to discuss in order to turn the game around and on resumption, they once again started positively.

They were let down by their passing, however, and St George South capitalised, with the Skakille Belle masterminding the second goal.

Playing on the left-wing, Belle was outstanding all evening and 13 minutes into the second stanza, he turned his marker inside out before picking out Harewood in the box, for the forward to easily find the back of the nets.

The pressure told on St Andrew and tempers flared at one point forcing the intervention of referee Edwin Adams and the loss of White afterwards only compounded matters.

St Andrew midfielder Darico King came close to pulling a goal back when he unleashed a powerful volley which forced a superb flying save out of goalkeeper, Jamar Brewster, fittingly adjudged Best Goalkeeper of the tourmament.

In addition to the MVP title, Watson was adjudged Best Midfielder while Romario Drakes, who along with Belle dominated for St George South, claimed the award for the Most Outstanding Under-20 player.

T’shane Lorde of St. Philip South and Jomo Harewood of St. Andrew finished as the top strkes with eight goals apiece while veteran former national player Wayne Sobers of St Michael West was voted Best Defender.

In the third place game, St Thomas comfortably defeated St Michael West 2-0 thanks to a brace from OKeefe Yearwood in the 29th and 64th minutes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *