Junior calypsonians ready for battle

The last time siblings took the two top spots in both categories of the Junior Monarch competition, was back in 2010 when the Clarke sisters – Lil Az and Small One – and the Gittens brothers – Mylez Z and Jazz Z – dominated the competition at the National Stadium. 

This year, two brothers – Browne Star and De Rock – will be looking to repeat history seven years later.

Both brothers have strong songs and are strong contenders for the top three. Browne Star, the more seasoned of the two, will be looking to take the crown this year. His brother De Rock, who is following in his footsteps, will also be looking to take the crown in his first year of competition. Ironically, they will be performing at number one and two on finals night.

Another strong contender for the crown is the Mighty Ballerina who was also a finalist in last year’s competition.

Also eager to take the title from defending monarch Summa, is Mhizz Kibabba who is also in her first year of competition.

In the senior category, will Lady Nica take the crown in her first finals? Or will De Overcomer lift the trophy after being a perennial finalist for five years? Will Ranaan take the 13-18 title after previously coming out on top in the 7-12 group? Or will Sparkle T win the crown in her last year of junior competition?

The finalists in the 7-12 category in order of appearance.

Those questions and more will be answered at Kensington Oval come July 22, when the juniors face off in what is expected to be a battle royale for both crowns.

What is known right now, however, is that defending monarch in the 13-18 category, De MC, will not be giving up his title that easily.

The finalists in the 13-18 category in order of appearance.

He told Barbados TODAY yesterday, following the draw for positions in the final, that he is ready to get on stage and perform a new song which no one has yet heard.

“I am still tweaking it here and there, but I will be ready come Saturday night. It will be a full production on stage so my fans can expect a very fantastic performance,” he said. “As it’s my final year, I will be pulling out all the stops, so the others will have to match that performance.”

The finalists drew for positions in Jubilee Gardens before a short concert that featured former monarch Sammy G, De MC and other performers from the preliminary round of the competition.

Former monarch Sammy G performing one of her winning songs, Protect Yuhself.

The order of appearance in the 13-18 category is: De MC (defending monarch), Ranaan, Mr Personality, Yahandje, Lady Nica, Sparkle T, De Overcomer and Miracle.

Vying for the crown in the 7-12 category, in order of appearance, are: De Rock, Browne Star, KCB, Summa (defending monarch), Hannah Glow, Mhizz Kibabba, The Mighty Ballerina and Master Kei.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *