Sharon, Wilkie Cumberbatch for BICO final

Sharon Primary is one game away from celebrating their maiden National Sports Council’s BICO-sponsored Primary Schools Football title.

In order to do so they will first have to get past former three-time champions Wilkie Cumberbatch Primary when the final takes place next week Thursday, June 22, at the National Stadium.

During Monday morning’s semifinals played at the Stadium under very windy conditions, Sharon were able to mastermind a 3-1 victory over St Giles’ Primary while in the other encounter Wilkie Cumberbatch advanced having denied St Jude’s Primary a Cinderella story of reaching their first ever final by clinching a 3-1 win through penalty kicks.

It seems Sharon, hailing from the Sylvester Blackman zone, might be the school to have their fairytale moment once they put on a good showing against a strong Wilkie Cumberbatch team.

Shelanie Bayne of Sharon Primary made it look easy as she dribbled past Reviera Cottle of St Giles Primary.

The opening half was uneventful as neither of the two teams managed to score a goal. It didn’t take long in the second half for this to change as Sharon broke the stalemate five minutes into the second period when Shabrian Jordan paced down the right flank past St Giles’ defender Shawn Jack, squared the ball inside the 12-yard box and found Renako Thompson who scored for a 1-0 lead in the 25th minute.

Sharon once again found the nets in the 30th minute through striker Kiaros Greaves who muscled past two defenders and took aim into the right far post of the goal bars at the Barbados Lumber Company end.

Two minutes later and Greaves came up with a brace and the third goal for Sharon to cement their place in the final even though St Giles were able to pull one back through Keshawn Walrond.

Speaking with Barbados TODAY after his team gained the berth into the final, Sharon’s physical education teacher Keandre Doughty said the boys went into Monday morning’s matchup feeling a bit nervous but their overall preparation physically and mentally paid off for major games like the one against St Giles.

Wilkie Cumberbatch, winners of the Reggie Haynes zone, are in possession of 2000, 2001 and 2013 BICO trophies and will seek to secure their fourth overall title after coming from behind against St Jude’s out of the Seymour Nurse zone.

Donte Gill netted his 17th goal of the competition thanks to a wonderful display of skills when he dribbled past Wilkie Cumberbatch captain and central defender Amego Jordan who was sloppy in his efforts that allowed Gill to run over him, compose himself and bury the ball past Wilkie Cumberbatch’s goalkeeper Jared Powlett.

The score remained 1-0 to St Jude’s heading into the second half and it was then Wilkie Cumberbatch found a bit of luck off a free kick taken by Raquan Clarke, which was handled by Javon Alleyne and resulted in a penalty kick which was scored by Jordan to tie the score 1-1. None of the two teams managed to come up with the decider, forcing ten minutes of extra time and eventually the penalty shootout.

Wilkie Cumberbatch opted to switch goalkeepers when Raquan Clarke, the top Under-11 goalkeeper in Barbados put on the gloves in place of Powlett, a decision that paid off well as the talented young man came up with two major saves.

The penalty scorers for Wilkie Cumberbatch were Jordan, Darian Blackman and Romario Best-Hinkson. Meanwhile Javon Alleyne was the only one that found the nets for a brokenhearted St Jude’s side.

The final and third place games are scheduled for 10.a.m. and 11.a.m respectively at the Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *