Athletes rewarded

CARIFTA gold medallist Aaron Worrell was among several athletes recognized for their outstanding performances at the 2017 Powerade Barbados Secondary Schools Athletics Championship (BSSAC).

More than 100 records were broken this year and that is perhaps a new record in itself with 33 in the field and 69 on track.

During a presentation ceremony held Wednesday afternoon at the Christ Church Foundation School (CCFS), The St Michael School took away a fair share of the trophies after reaching the pinnacle of track and field glory where the boys won for the very first time this year and the girls placed third after last winning in 1984.

Some of the record-breakers at BSSAC.

Defending BSSAC girls champions, Foundation School, also took the spotlight when their athletes were presented with several trophies. They won the Esther Maynard Zone amassing 477 points and Harrison College the boys with a total of 384.5 points.

Under-13 Division champions of the Alleyne School, Achilles Browne (left) and victrix ludorum Brieanna Boyce (right) received their trophies from Cheryl Forde.

Worrell clinched the Under-20 Boys Division champion title in what was his final BSSAC outing and told Barbados TODAY come August he would be on a full-time scholarship to Alcorn State University in Mississippi, United States.

Vivica Addison of Lester Vaughan School is the Under-15 Division Champion at BSSAC and collected her prize from Winston Alleyne of City of Bridgetown.

He was extremely happy about being accepted into the university where he will be pursuing studies either in Business Management or the agriculture field.

Shonita Brome of Alexandra School topped the Under-20 Girls Division of the Frank Blackman Zone and also broke the Under-20 Girls 400m hurdles at BSSAC.

The 19-year-old said that since transferring in 2014 from the Alexandra School, The St Michael School has really nurtured him into an all-round individual and he was extremely grateful to his family, coaches and teammates who had made his journey possible this far.

Shemia Odaine of the Alleyne School (left) was recognized as one of those athletes who made it against the odds as she collects her trophy from Tamika Newton.

“The St Michael School has been wonderful to me ever since being transferred here. When Mr Perkins [Sheldon] first brought me to the school, in my interview he asked me what subjects I wanted to study and I said, ‘but Sir, we did not get into the matter of it’ and he said, ‘no, you are a pleasant and mannerly fella, I checked the transcript and letter you sent me, you are automatically in [the St Michael School].’ And from there I said any school that is able to accept me just by looking at my manners and not just my academic ability is a school that I really want to be apart of,” said the boy from Arch Hall, St Thomas who has hope of one day representing Barbados at the Olympic Games.

Most Outstanding Male Distance Athlete, Roneldo Rock of Grantley Adams Memorial Secondary School received his prize from Anthony Miller.

The lads from the Martindale’s Road school captured double honours in the Frank Blackman Zone by winning both the males with 385 points, and females, 383. In that same zone they won the Under-13, 15 and 17 Divisions through Josiah Parris, Nathan Roett and Rhea Hoyte respectively. They also ran away with six of seven gold medals in the relays after winning both the girls and boys in the 4x400m open, Under-17 4x100m and Under-20 4x100m. The other relay gold went to Queen’s College Boys in the Under-13 age group.

Cheryl Forde of Co-operators General Insurance Company Limited presented Nathan Crawford-Wallis of Christ Church Foundation School with his award.

There were other awardees and among those were CARIFTA gold medallist Jonathan Jones of Harrison College and Shemia Odaine of The Alleyne School. They were both recognized for rising above the odds, amidst challenges, which is an initiative called Made It Against The Odds, in memory of Lateisha Gilkes a former BSSAC and stand-out athlete.

One of three BSSAC honourees Angella Stevenson is all smiles as Orson Alleyne principal of Alexandra School and chairman of the BSSAC Committee presents her award.

There were three BSSAC honourees this year and they are Angella Stevenson, Vasco Dash and the now deceased Leroy Harper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *