Athletes get reward for sterling BSSAC performances

The lads of Martindale’s Road, St Michael finally made it over the mountain.

That is according to coach Gabriel Burnett who expressed his joy at finally lifting the Boys 2017 Powerade Barbados Secondary Schools Athletics Championship trophy.

Rasheem Griffith of Coleridge and Parry brought spectators at the National Stadium to their feet when he broke the Under-20 Boys 400m hurdle record.

When the team for the 2017 Flow CARITA Games scheduled for Curacao, April 15-17, was announced Friday afternoon seven of the athletes were from The St Michael School. Amateur Athletics Association of Barbados, vice president Noel Lynch made the announcement.

Jonathan Jones of Harrison College looked smooth as he won the Boys 5000m open.

Barbados will be taking a total of 28 athletes and they are Under-18 athletes Akayla Morris, Hannah Connell, Shanice Hutson and Shonita Brome. The Under-18 boys are Antoni Hoyte-Small, Darian Clarke, Enrique Babb, Jonathan Miller, Kyle Gale, Matthew Clarke, Nathan Fergusson, Ondre Callender, Rasheem Griffith, Renaldo Rock, Ty Browne, Tremaine Smith and Tre Hollingsworth.

CARIFTA bronze medallist Matthew Clarke won the Under-20 Boys 100m and 200m for the victorious St Michael School.

There are only two female runners in the Under-20 Division, namely overseas-based sprinter Tristan Evelyn who is on scholarship along with Tiana Bowen. The Under-20 boys are Aaron Worrell, Jaquan Hoyte, Jonathan Jones, Calvin Marcus, Kentoine Browne, Rio Williams, Rivaldo Leacock, Seth Edwards and Triston Gibbons.

(From left) Yuriko Harewood, Rosette Hoyte, Hannah Connell and Tiana Bowen, the victorious 4x400m team of Christ Church Foundation School.

The manager is Angela Jackson, head coach Adrian Thorne and the others are Desiree Crichlow, Ramon Armstrong and Jamal Grosvenor. The medical personnel are Dr. Phyllis Burnett and Shontelle Trotman.

Aaron Worrell of the St Michael School goes over the Under-20 Boys high jump bar at 1.98m.

The highest the St Michael School ever came was fifth in the boys and speaking about his team’s success, Burnett said: “It feels really great. As I was addressing the team after, I shed some tears and had to compose myself because the students worked really hard over the years.”

Harrison College athlete Akayla Morris won the Under-17 Girls 200m ahead of Jaliyah Denny of Christ Church Foundation School.

Going forward Burnett said they would continue to build on the team and improve as time went by. “This year we had a plan, we went in together, the team came together from September and our focus was winning the BSSAC title. We knew we had a good team and went after the title in both boys and girls.”

Victor ludorum Aren Spencer of Harrison College (left) and victrix ludorum Brieanna Boyce of Alleyne School. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay)

Meanwhile Seibert Straughn, coach of Christ Church Foundation School, praised his entire support staff for the invaluable contribution including principal Robert Cumberbatch.

Rhea Hoyte of the St Michael School won the Under-17 Girls 300m hurdles ahead of Sarah Belle of Christ Church Foundation School.

“If it is one thing I must say, we have had principals who have always supported sports at Foundation School, developed the concept of a student athlete where you not only focus on sports but the academic side. It takes a lot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *