Basketball moves and awards 2017

It seems Orange Three Pinelands’ loss might be Urban Vybz St John Sonics gain after all. 

Even though not yet confirmed, word around local basketball circles is that Pinelands who are the reigning Barbados Amateur Basketball Association League Champions will be without the services of their captain Charles Vanderpool and shooting guard Ramon Simmons. 

Station Hill Cavaliers are the Premier League Knockout Champions for 2016 and the trophy was collected by Saeed Norville, a member of the team.

During an awards ceremony this past Wednesday at Co-operators General Insurance Company Limited, BABA president Derrick Garrett hinted at the possibility of these two men applying their skills in Sonics’ camp during the 2017 domestic basketball season.

If that be the case both national players Vanderpool a power forward and Simmons will join forces with Sonics’ top players that include Akeem Marsh, Stefan Clarke, Dwayne Kellman, Jamar King and Stefan Yarde to name a few.

Pan American International Insurance Warrens’ Pearson Griffith (l) collecting the Knockout Champions trophy from Barbados Amateur Basketball Association president Derrick Garrett.

Pinelands have not been left out to sea considering Ian Alexander is still there, Jeremy Gill, Junior Moore and now young Manuel Alleng have apparently left Warrens for Pinelands. 

Barbados Hilton Resort Warriors also have a new face in their line-up in Justin Pile who has not played in years but will now feature in Frederick Bynoe’s team.

Three teams have not yet handed in their registration list of players for the 2017 season but one thing for sure come next week Thursday, March 2, at the Barbados Community College we will know which players would be taking to the court this season, and for which team. 

Topping the list of awardees was Marsh of Sonics being adjudged Most Valuable Player of the league and best offensive player.

Akeem Marsh (l) was named Most Valuable Player.

MVP in the playoffs was Jeremy Gill of Orange Three Pinelands. Best defender was Kregg Jones of Barbados Lumber Company Lakers and Jamar Headley of Barbados Hilton Resort Warriors was adjudged the most improved. 

Barbados Amateur Basketball Association Premier Division Coach of the Year Adrian Craigwell of Station Hill Cavaliers receiving his award from Donna Cumberbatch of Co-operators General Insurance Company Limited.

Meanwhile coach of the year went to Adrian Craigwell of Station Hill Cavaliers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *