All Saints Primary in dominant form

It was three times the charm for All Saints Primary in the Anton Norris Zone of the Pine Hill 2017 National Primary Schools Athletics Championship held Thursday at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex.

The defending champions continued their overall dominance in this zone by winning their third consecutive double crown trophy. 

All Saints Primary have won the Anton Norris Zone for a third consecutive year at the Pine Hill 2017 National Primary Schools Athletics Championship.

This would make it the fourth straight year that they have won the females, accumulating 156.50 points to finish ahead of Cuthbert Moore Primary who tallied 116 points. There was a tie for third position between A DaCosta Edwards Primary and Hillaby Turners Hall Primary with both scoring a total of 105 points. The girls of St Jude’s Primary placed fifth with 78 points.

The boys of All Saints amassed 273 points to capture their third consecutive title. The closest to that total was the 127 by St Jude’s Primary while A DaCosta Edwards scored 92 for third place. Rounding out the top five were Hillaby Turners Hall Primary placing fourth with 90 points and Blackman and Gollop tallied 82 for fifth. 

It was a finish right down to the end between Under-13 Division champion Christian Als (centre) of Blackman and Gollop Primary and Rakobe Carrington of St Lucy Primary.

There were several records that fell on the day and All Saints hailing from the parish of St Peter captured a few of them. 

All Saints first got among the records when Tristan Gill ran two strong laps to clock a record time of 2:35.31 in the boys 800m open. The previous record was 2:36.62. Two other athletes ran under that time with one being Gill’s teammate Tarone King running 2:35.34 and Matthieu Clarke of People’s Cathedral School, 2:36.21. 

Tristan Gill of All Saints Primary ran two strong laps to break the Boys 800m Open record.

Three athletes also surpassed the mark of 1.40m that stood for the past six years in the Under-seven Boys standing broad jump. Nicolai Forde of St Martin’s Mangrove Primary led the way with 1.67m, Danari Griffith of All Saints reached a mark of 1.41m and Kareem Springer of St Lucy Primary jumped 1.40m. 

Nicolai Forde of St Martin’s Mangrove Primary broke the Under-seven Boys standing broad jump with a leap of 1.67m.

In the Under-11 Boys long jump, two athletes leaped past 4.09m when Kriston Nurse of Hillaby Turners Hall landed at 4.22m and Ashan Trotman of St Matthew’s Primary 4.17m for the second best jump.

Gordon Walters Primary also got among the records when Azari Rollins in the Under-nine Boys Division long jump got past the previous mark of 3.27m to land at 3.29m for the win.

Aniya Nurse of Hillaby Turners Hall also got her name in the record books in the Under-11 Girls Division when she ran a brisk heat of 1:12.04 to smash the 1:14.05 previously set by Erica Beckles in 2011. Rihanna Wynne of Belmont Primary equalled the girls high jump open at 1.25m. 

Rihanna Wynne of Belmont Primary going over the high jump bar at 1.25m to equal the record.

Tariq Barker of All Saints delivered an outstanding performance today in the Under-nine Boys Division to lift the victor ludorum trophy with 24 points. Barker won the 100m in 15.37, came second in the 150m in a time of 23.60 behind Jazeer Best whose time was 22.90. He was also third in the long jump event, which provided the record of 3.29m captured by Azari Rollins while Rollins’ teammate Jawayn Maynard of Gordon Walters came second at a distance of 3.18m. 

Victor ludorum Tariq Barker (left) of All Saints Primary and victrix ludorum Chrisaria Ballantyne (right) pose with Anton Norris.

Chrisaria Ballantyne of Cuthbert Moore Primary scored 28 points in the Under-13 Girls Division. She was a clear winner in the 200m running 29.13, she won the 400m in 1:09.61 while she placed second in the 100m running 13.96 which was the second fastest time after the 13.90 ran by Shania Hippolyte of St Lucy Primary. 

Topping the Under-13 Boys Division was Jeremiah Walcott of Blackman and Gollop Primary with 20 points, he crossed the finish line in 13.49 in the 100m and 28.39 in the 200m. 

The Under-11 Division champions were Alika Harewood with 26 points for St Jude’s and Kriston Nurse of Hillaby Turners Hall with 23. 

(From left) Distaney Fergusson, Shakara Worrell-Belgrave, Aisha Roach and Kristen O’Neale – the victorious medley relay team for All Saints Primary.

Harewood has always represented St Jude’s well in this zone. Thursdsay she clocked 14.55 to win the 100m, she ran 30.32 for the fastest time in the 200m and was third in the 400m, stopping the clock at 1:12.04. Meanwhile Nurse came first in the long jump, second in the 100m with 14.71 trailing the 14.60 ran by Jayden Lavine of Eagle Hall Primary. Nurse was also fourth in the 200m which was won by Dante Parris of St Matthew’s Primary in 29.88. 

Makel Alleyne of St Matthew’s starred in the Under-nine Girls age group with a total of 26 points, winning the 80m in 12.67 and leaping 2.80m in the long jump. Alleyne was third in the 150m finishing in 25.16 while Markeis Chandler of A DaCosta Edwards produced a better time of 24.57 for first ahead of Ri-Anne Maloney of Blackman and Gollop who was timed at 24.59. 

The Under-seven Boys and Girls Division champions were Nicolai Forde of St Martin’s Mangrove and Nikyah Haynes of Cuthbert Moore respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *