Star performers!

Bayley’s boys capture athletics zonal title

Bayley’s Primary have clinched their maiden boys’ title in the Patsy Callender Zone of the National Primary Schools Athletics Championship, held Tuesday at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex. 

In a turnaround from last year when the girls won, the male athletes of Bayley’s turned up the accelerator in 2017 to pull away from the field with a whopping 209 points for the win. The closest to that total was Milton Lynch Primary with 143 points and Wesley Hall Primary with 130 in third place. Wilkie Cumberbatch with 116.50 points were fourth and West Terrace Primary’s 98 points earned them fifth place.

The boys of Bayley’s Primary won their first title in the Patsy Callender Zone of the National Primary Schools Athletics Championship Tuesday.
(Picture by Morissa Lindsay)

The girls’ trophy went to Charles F. Broome Primary who last won it in 2015. They tallied 234 points to take the zonal title convincingly ahead of West Terrace Primary’s girls who were second with 133.50 points and Wesley Hall, who were leading the point standings at one stage during the day but ended with 111 points for third. It took just 1.5 points to separate fourth placed Bayley’s on 97.50 from Christ Church Girls’ in fifth position on 96. 

A total of six records were broken with four on track and two in the field events. New boys champion Bayley’s captured one of those in the Under-seven Boys Division thanks to Dominic Duncan who jumped beyond the previous mark of 1.50m to land at 1.52m and claim the long jump title. Eboni Brathwaite of Charles F. Broome threw a distance of 31.31m to replace the previous mark of 25.74m in the Under-nine Girls cricket ball throw. 

Meanwhile on track, two records fell in the Under-seven age group, first in the girls 50m by Aaliyah Goodridge of Wesley Hall running 8.97 to erase the 9.08 established in 2009. Shai Thorne of Bayley’s clocked a personal best of 8.58 to replace the previous 8.98 mark which had stood for seven years. Tonika Griffith of Lawrence T Gay Primary also got her name in the record books, stopping the time at 1:07.79 to erase the 1:08.47 mark set by Tianna Bowen in 2009.

Wesley Hall Under-11 Boys relay team of Carlos and Charles Barton, Sideeq Caine-Wharton and Clifton Mayers produced a record 56.51 in the 4x100m, replacing the 56.91 once held by Eden Lodge Primary. 

Kevion Newton of Wesley Hall, a top performer at NAPSAC, was outstanding winning the Under-11 Boys cricket ball with a throw of 50.47m. He clocked 13.79 in the 100m and 28.13 in the 200m to register wins and a total of 30 points in capturing the victor ludorum title. This would be the second time Newton has captured that trophy having won it in 2015 when he competed in the Under-nine Division.

Victrix ludorum honours went to Under-nine champion Brianna Catwell of Charles F. Broome. She accumulated 30 points with convincing wins in the 80m running 12.50, the 100m where she ran 15.67 and in the 150m she stopped the clock at 14.01. 

There was a lightning bolt name Aidan Moore of Wilkie Cumberbatch in the Under-nine category. Moore was unstoppable in the 80m, 150m and had the second fastest time of 15.26 in the 100m behind Dahrion Belgrave who ran a more impressive time of 14.93. The Under-11 Girls Division champion title went to Ebony Jones of George Lamming with 22 points for her efforts in winning the long jump and placing third in the 100m behind Daneka Lorde of Wesley Hall who came second and Hannah Best of St Christopher Primary who was first in a time of 14.69.

Jones’ time of 31.09 in the 200m was not fast enough to beat Doneisha Barnett of Luther Thorne who clocked 31.08 to finish second and Tonika Griffith of Lawrence T Gay Primary who took top spot with a time of 29.83. 

The Under-13 Division champions were Nya Browne of Christ Church Girls and Zaki Clarke of Eden Lodge Primary. Browne with 25 points, was victorious in the 100m, 200m and fifth in the long jump. The latter was won by West Terrace Primary’s Skye Spencer- Layne with  a distance of  4.31m. 

Clarke ended the day with 26 points having won the 200m and was second in the 100m behind Teon Haynes of Bayley’s Primary. He was also second in the cricket ball throw with a distance of 56.05m. This was some distance behind the 62.08m thrown by his schoolmate Raheem Holder. 

In the Under-seven males category, the top three performers hailed from Bayley’s with Mekari Bushell collecting 18 points, along with ten points each from Dominic Duncan and Shai Thorne. Meanwhile Aaliyah Goodridge of Wesley Hall, Sameera Woods of Charles F. Broome, Kaleah Naitara-Goddard of West Terrace and Alaina Waithe of Luther Thorne Memorial all scored ten points each in the Under-seven age group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *