Bayley’s takes fourth title

An all-round performance by Man of the Match Preston Clarke propelled Bayley’s Primary to their fourth Guardian Group sponsored National Sports Council Herman Griffith Primary Schools’ Cricket title. 

The competition now in its 39th year finished today at the historic Empire Cricket Ground. West Terrace, captained by Zion Brathwaite, won the toss from Bayley’s skipper, Daniel Joseph, on a hard wicket and elected to bowl. That would be the only thing West Terrace would win today as Bayley’s went on to take the final by 81 runs.

Bayley’s Primary are Champions of the 2016 Guardian Group sponsored Herman Griffith Primary Schools Cricket Competition. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay)

The St Phillip based side who have reached the semifinals 12 times, more than any other team in the three decade long competition, posted a mammoth 165 runs for six from their allotted 25 overs with a top score of 31 runs from Clarke batting at number four.

In response to the target West Terrace, bowling a total of 56 extras almost certinly costing them the trophy, eventually crumbled with 84 all out off 23.2 overs to joyous celebrations from Bayley’s and their enthusiastic supporters.

Opening the batting for Bayley’s Darius Joseph and Dajahree Brathwaite started out well, scoring 15 without loss after two overs. Seven overs into the game and Brathwaite departed comprehensively beaten by Jonathan Harmon for eight.

This brought Daniel Duncan to the crease joining Joseph, their partnership taking the score to 57 for one in the tenth over.

Harmon, the pick of West Terrace bowling attack took three wickets for 32 runs off his allotted five overs at an average of 5.4 runs per over, struck again with his medium pace at the southern end. Duncan went lbw to Harmon for 23 having smashed five fours before his departure. The score 68 for two in the 12th.

Clarke came to the crease and managed 15 before his stumps was uprooted by Harmon.

Bayley’s needed a partnership to steady things and it came compliments Clarke and Daniel Joseph the twin brother of Darius. Clarke and Daniel came together and produced a fourth wicket stand of 62 runs.

Daniel hit a four on the last ball of the 17th over to carry the score to 103. The pair looked focus and put away the bad balls where necessary.

Things were progressing nicely at 149 for three in 22nd over when Joseph nudged for one down the leg side to bring up 150.  Bayley’s now 28 runs short of the highest score this year posted by 11 time champions Wesley Hall.

In the latter stages of the game with less than theree overs left, Clarke went bowled by Ajani Williams for 31. Daniel Joseph also loss his wicket run out off the third ball of the final over for 27 but by that stage Bayley’s had already set what proved to be an unassailable total.

Also among the wickets for West Terrace was Raedon Bellamy and Williams with one apiece.

It was West Terrace’s turn at the crease but the opening pair Ajani Williams and Brandon Hinds could only manage 18 for the first wicket which fell in the fourth. Hinds bowled by Jayden Yarde for just one run.

Brathwaite came in at three with West Terrace 26 for one off 5.2 overs. After a short rain delay play resumed, Brathwaite and Williams seeking to go after Bayley’s bowling. However, Brathwaite could only get to 12, before due to a lack of communication was run out.

West Terrace were clearly struggling at 38 for two in the 11th.

Clarke, with his off-spin, grabbed two for 24 runs from his five overs inclusive of two maidens.

The most impressive bowling for West Terrace came from David Callender who took three for 17 from four overs with his medium pace. Also bagging two wickets was Teon Haynes for eight off 1.2 overs. Class three student Shaquan Belle along with Jayden Yarde both captured one wicket each.

Bayley’s bowled a total of 46 extras with majority of those being 36 wides.

The rain came down again forcing another stoppage in play but it was also short lived.

No other batsmen aside from Brathwaite 12 and Williams ten reached double figures for the St James based school who were down and out at 80 for eight needing another 85 runs for victory from four overs.

The Most Valuable Player award in the Guardian Group sponsored National Sports Council Herman Griffith Primary Schools’ Cricket went to Edwin Barnett of Wesley Hall Primary.

2 Responses to Bayley’s takes fourth title

  1. Jim Alleyne December 14, 2016 at 8:00 am

    True fighter, finally.

  2. Philip Knight December 15, 2016 at 5:07 pm

    This is a great moment for the Principal, Staff and Students of the Bayley’s Primary School. The surrounding communities, especially Lynch’s gave spiritual and physical support to the students, coaches and other team officials. What a cohesive community !
    Community works.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *