UWI retain T20 crown

BDFSP provide easy fodder for Cave Hill Campus

Make it a record four Sagicor General T20 cups in five seasons for Sagicor Life UWI.

Following a commanding 66-run victory over the Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme (BDFSP) last night, the students from the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies are celebrating another capture of the Sagicor General Insurance T20 Cricket Championship.

Players and supporters of Sagicor Life UWI having a champagne celebration last night.
Players and supporters of Sagicor Life UWI having a champagne celebration last night.

Playing at home at the 3W’s Oval, UWI scored 186 for the loss of seven wickets from their 20 overs after winning the toss and opting to bat. They then restricted BDFSP to 120 for six off 20 overs.

UWI posted a challenging target with critical knocks of 47 from West Indies batsman Jonathan Carter and 33 not out from Akeem Dewar, before choking the BDFSP batsmen with accurate bowling and good fielding.

While the champions were off to a flying start, taking 20 off the first over bowled by seamer Tremaine Harris and reaching 49 for two off the first five overs, BDFSP were shocked in the first over of their innings as leading batsman Kemar Brathwaite was dismissed without scoring.

Once Brathwaite was trapped leg before wicket with the second ball of the innings by former Barbados left-arm spinner Ryan Hinds, the BDFSP batsmen stumbled and struggled thereafter while slipping to two wickets for 10 runs in the fourth over and then 44 for three by the 10th over.

By contrast, UWI were 76 for four after 10 overs which indicated how the BDFSP batsmen were pegged back and unable to get the ball off the square against the UWI slow bowlers.

While the UWI batsmen also slammed 110 runs from their last 10 overs, BDFSP managed just 76 off their last 10, in chasing a further 142 to win the match, and were firmly entrenched as losing finalists when they ran out of time and balls.

Carter, who flew into Barbados hours before the match, was voted Man-Of-the-Match for his 47 off 28 balls, which included four sixes and a four, while young pacer Dario Seale was the best bowler for BDFSP with four wickets for 37 runs. Wicketkeeper Tevyn Walcott top-scored for BDFSP with 34 off 31 balls.

UWI, who previously won Sagicor T20 Cups in 2012, 2013 and 2015, collected the champion’s cheque of $20 000 while BDFSP took the runners-up cash prize of $10 000. All players and officials were also presented with commemorative medals.

Roger Spencer, assistant vice-president of marketing of sponsors Sagicor General Insurance, congratulated UWI for their fourth T20 title and also praised both teams for creating an interesting final, where the BDFSP were making their first appearance in the T20 play-off.

Spencer also praised all teams that took part in the 2016 T20 tournament and said Sagicor General was again happy to support cricket on the island.

“We are proud of our support of cricket and the youth of Barbados over the years and we will continue to support wholesome activities in the communities in which we operate,” Spencer said.

Source: (BB)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *