Charles F Broome wins inter-school Chess Championship

Charles F Broome Memorial School’s “A” team dominated the recent 2016 Massy United Inter-School team chess championship, which was held at the St Michael School.

Charles F Broome won all of their six matches by a score of 10-0 and walked away with the maximum 60 points.

The tournament is played with a total of five players per team and two reserves. A win is worth two points, a draw one point and a loss 0 points. So a team can gain a max of 10 points per match.


Gaybrianna Moore of Charles F Broom won all her games for her team.

The Charles F Broome “A” team was made up of Yeshua Hill, Azaria Johnson, Jaydon Gill, Vanessa Greenidge, Gabryanna Moore with Jalesa Best as reserve. All the first five players will receive board prizes as having the best scores on their respective boards. In the final round, they dismissed St. Gabriel’s 10-0.

Finishing in second spot was Charles F Broome “C” on 39 points.  They took their destiny in their own hands when in the last round, they defeated a plucky Lawrence T Gay “A” team 6-4, in a match they could not afford to lose.

For Charles F Broome “C”, Joshua Harris, Dominc Small and Gabriel Murray won their respective games. However Ashebe Hope and Jerem Gittens fell to Nicholas Russel and Elisha Ifill of the opposing team. This loss pushed Lawrence T Gay “A” down into fourth spot overall on 34 points.

Tashawn Maloney (left) of St Giles battling Alia Gaflor of St Angela’s.

In third spot was Milton Lynch “A” team. In the last round, they crushed a depleted St. Cyprians “A” team 10-0 with victories for Kevion Perch, Christian Gill, Kimahri Holder, Damani Layne and T’equan Pinder. This pushed Milton Lynch “A” into third spot on 38 points, just one point below the second place finishers.

Students battle for primary school Chess Championship.

Other final round results saw St. Jude’s, St Cyprians ”B”, Milton Lynch “B”, the Ursaline Convent, St. Angela’s and Providence all winning by identical 8-2 scores against their respective opponents Wesley Hall, Eagle Hall, Lawrence T Gay “B”, St. Giles and Charles F Broome “B”.


Source: PR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *