St Hill to lead Barbados’ hockey

Mark St Hill was installed as the new president of the Barbados Hockey Federation Inc. at its Annual General Meeting last night at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex.

St Hill, a former national and Combermere School Old Scholars’ goalkeeper, made a successful bid for the post of president, succeeding former president David Rouse.

Mark St Hill
Mark St Hill

In his first address to the membership, St Hill stated that while he had entered relatively blindly into the office, he had done so out of his love for the sport and to return the dues he owes to Barbados hockey. He added that there were a number of items that the federation had to get right, inclusive of solid governance and transparency.

With a professional background in banking as the current managing director of Retail, Business and International Banking at FirstCaribbean International Bank, he stressed that given the contracted economy and the prohibitive financial position of the federation, there would be some very hard decisions to make, where a clear road-map for the sport would need to be charted.

The new president outlined his main targets for Barbados Hockey as first, positioning the sport back to its former popularity as a top local sport and decentralizing and promoting a recognizable hockey brand. He added an effort would also be made toward establishing revenue sustainability and making the Barbados International Hockey Festival a top priority. Also on the agenda would be maintaining and improving Barbados’ international ranking in the English-speaking Caribbean.

He assured the members present that all of their comments regarding Barbados’ hockey were extremely important and emphasized the ultimate goal of growing the youth and junior programmes and promoting development, while bringing Barbados’ hockey “back to basics”.

Other elected directors include newcomer Dr Kristina Hinds-Harrison in the post of vice-president, George Bennett, a past president himself, returning as assistant secretary, immediate past president David Rouse will now serve as vice-president. Leslie Austin, Jason Robinson, Bradley Harris and Justin Taitt were successfully returned as directors.

Source: (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *