Athletes show their worth

The annual Louis Lynch Championships featured some of the island’s top athletes who showed signs of early form over the weekend at the National Stadium.

Among them was CARIFTA gold medalist Sada Williams who won the under-18 girls 400m in a breeze clocking a time of 53.95 seconds on Saturday. She was also impressive when she stopped the clock at 23.36 seconds to win the 200m while representing her club Elite Distance Programme the following day.

Sada Williams
Sada Williams

The Norgrove brothers ran as independents and placed one, two in the men’s 400m showdown.  Fabian ran 48.24 and Kemar clocked 48.38 and they were good enough to outpace Wade Garner of The Lodge School who had the fastest preliminary time of 48.73.  In the under-18 girls 400m Tiana Bowen of Christ Church Foundation ran 56.13 to win ahead of the field.

Levi Cadogan of Quantum Leap was a cut above the rest when he ran out of lane eight to win the men’s 100m in 10.45 ahead of the 10.49 ran by Fallon Forde from University of the West Indies (UWI) Blackbirds. Forde however did well to cross the finish line in 21.32 in the men’s 200m battle that for some reason did not feature Cadogan.

Jade Bailey as expected dominated the women’s 100m with her time of 11.68. Kiera Forde-Richards of Quantum Leap with 12.32 seconds was the fastest in the under-18 girls 100m on Saturday and she returned yesterday to win the 200m in 24.73.

Quantum Leap had another good performance from Nathan Fergusson who had the under-18 boys 100m locked down in 11.20. Kuron Griffith of UWI won the boys’ under-18 200m in 22.93 and was also dominant with his time of 50.55 in the 400m.

Jonathan Jones of Elite Distance Programme.
Jonathan Jones of Elite Distance Programme.

Elite Distance Programme (EDP) under the guidance of coach Leo Garnes won both the men and women’s 800m events. They placed one, two, three through Elizabeth Williams (2:15.65), Florence Fields (2:20.02) and Krysta Maloney (2:22.02) respectively. Williams, a Foundation student, won the women 1500m in 4:46.33 ahead of teammate Fields’ 5:00.10.

They also dominated the men’s long distance thanks to a good run by Anthonio Mascoll (1:49.47) and Jonathan Jones (1:51.15). Jones also captured the men’s 1500m in a time of 3:59.74.

Kai Alleyne of EDP with a time of 2:08.49 was victorious in the boys under-18 800m and Rosette Hoyte of Foundation ran 2:25.32 to win the girls equivalent. Joseph Parris of EDP won the men’s 5000m in a gruelling 17:59.81.

Rosette Hoyte of Christ Church Foundation won the under-18 girls 800m.
Rosette Hoyte of Christ Church Foundation won the under-18 girls 800m.

Holly-Ann Hunte of Quantum Leap had the longest throw in the women’s javelin at a distance of 30.11. Springer Memorial was well represented especially by Sierra Coward whose 24.27m in the under-18 girls javelin was a winner and she also ran 15.77 to win the 100m hurdles. Shonte Seale of Springer Memorial was the best in the under-18 girls high jump at a height at 1.55. Malika Roach of EDP won the women’s shot put with a distance of 10.45m and Romancia Odwin captured the girls’ under-18 shot put with 11.96m representing Coleridge and Parry School.

In the men’s field events Akeem Rowe of Blackbirds reached 6.22m to win the long jump. Anderson Greaves competed unattached in the under-18 boys long jump and won at a distance of 7.10m. Dario Sobers won the men’s open discus with a throw of 41.76m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *