Semifinals bound

Bayley’s, St cyprian’s advance in cricket

Former champions Bayley’s Primary are through to the semifinals of the Guardian Group-sponsored National Sports Council’s Herman Griffith Primary Schools Cricket Competition.

And they owed their victory to the efforts of Daniel Duncan who made a polished 46 and Jadon Yarde who snared four wickets.

Jadon Yarde  captured four wickets with his medium pace to help Bayley’s Primary reach the semi-final round. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay)
Jadon Yarde captured four wickets with his medium pace to help Bayley’s Primary reach the semi-final round. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay)

It is the first time in the competition that Bayley’s batted first on what was a hard wicket at the Passage Road, St Michael ground and after being sent in to bat by Eden Lodge they did not disappoint posting a whopping 203 for six from their allotted 25 overs. They then bundled out their opponents for 44 in 14.1 overs to take the victory by 159 runs.

Bayley’s captain Daniel Joseph opened the batting with Shomari Gittens and the pair scored at a rapid rate before the first wicket fell at 58 for one in the sixth over when Gittens departed for 19. He was trapped lbw to Kyron King who picked up two wickets for 46 runs from his allotted five overs.

Preston Clarke was in at number three to join his captain and the pair found the singles and rotated the strike in order to keep the scoreboard ticking over until Eden Lodge found the breakthrough in the tenth over when Darnel Forde trapped Joseph lbw to leave the score 97 for 2. Daniel Duncan joined Preston at the crease and they did not let down Bayley’s. Eden Lodge gave away 53 extras that included 44 wides, four no-balls, three byes and two leg byes.

Clarke and Duncan batted well and were responsible for Bayley’s second-highest partnership of 53 before Clarke gave away his hand for 31 caught and bowled by King to leave the score at 150 for three with five overs remaining in the innings.

Javon Cummins came in but failed to trouble the scorers as he went caught off the bowling of D’angelo Bowen for a duck in the 21st over. Bowen was the pick of the Eden Lodge bowlers with two wickets for 28 runs from his spell of five overs.

Shaquon Belle joined Duncan but was unable to stick around. After scoring just four runs he departed off the bowling of Bowen at 183 for five off 23 overs. Omari Haynes was in at seven but Duncan who was approaching his 50 did not make it as he misjudged a ball from Raheem Holder in the penultimate over and lost his wicket. Darius Joseph and Haynes saw the rest of the innings through to the end.

Eden Lodge made a meal of the target set as none of their batsmen got into double figure. Ramario Forde and Kyron King scored nine runs each along with Antoine Darlington who made six. Five ducks were registered in the Eden Lodge innings and Yarde was responsible for most of the damage with his medium pace. He produced a brilliant spell for his 4 fo 14 off five overs.

A total of 13 extras were bowled during Eden Lodge’s innings and at one point four wickets were down for just four runs. Bayley’s all-rounders showed they were just as good with the ball. Preston Clarke took three wickets for six runs including two maiden and Joseph also took two wickets for ten runs from four overs.

Over at the Desmond Haynes Oval St Cyprian’s Boys scraped home by seven runs in what was a nailbiting finish when they played Gordon Greenidge Primary. St Cyprian’s scored 65 all out with a top score of 13 from Jazen Sealy and Folzo Brewster ten. In response to the small target Gordon Greenidge fell short when they were bowled out for 58 with Raheem Agard scoring 22. Zishan Motara and Jaden Brewster captured four wickets apiece to help St Cyprian’s reach the semi-finals.

Bayley’s will play St Stephen’s in the semi-final round at Trent’s while at Friendship next Wednesday St Cyprian’s Boys will take on the winner of tomorrow’s game between defending champions West Terrace and former champs Wesley Hall at Dover.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *