Pope, Brathwaite emerge as Bushy Park champs

Jermin Pope and Kris Brathwaite are Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc’s (BPMSI) inaugural champion driver and champion rider respectively, after being crowned last Saturday at Bushy Park as the Club’s first full season came to a dramatic conclusion under floodlights.

Pope added a hat-trick of class wins to the five he had claimed earlier in the season to win the Ionics Clubman 1 and overall titles in his Honda Civic, while three third places aboard the Suzuki GSX-R600 was sufficient for Brathwaite to win Bikes Class A and the overall two-wheel title.

Action under the lights at Bushy Park. (Picture by Corey Reece)
Action under the lights at Bushy Park. (Picture by Corey Reece)

Pope had to battle for supremacy in the early stages of all three races with Geoffrey Ullyett in the Nissan 150Y. Ullyett had beaten Pope once in their previous encounter in September, but he had to settle for three second places this time round, with Darren Lashley (Peugeot 205XS) completing the podium in each race.

Quincy Jones (Toyota Starlet), who had been in contention for the champion driver title all season, won the opening Recovery Modified Production 1 race, to keep in touch, but slipped back thereafter. Driving his absent sons’s Daihatsu Charmant, Gregory Catwell showed little signs of his recent lack of seat time, just losing out to Jones in the opening race, then taking advantage when the Toyota driver spun early on to win the class in race two.

Jones retired on the opening lap of the final encounter, which Catwell did not start, handing the season’s last class win to Paul St Hill (Nissan Sentra B12).

Although he had to play second fiddle to Simon Gillmore’s Peugeot 205 in all three of Saturday’s races, Adrian Bailey had done enough earlier in the season to claim the Ionics C2 title in his Tints’R’Us 205. He was also third overall in the champion driver points table.

In the Williams Equipment Modified Production races, Jerry Leach debuted his redeveloped Honda Civic in fine style, although all three merged races were won by Roger Mayers, who doubtless wished De Focus had performed as well at the Seaboard Marine CMRC race meet five weeks before.

Some of the best action came on two wheels, although Brathwaite was unable to add to his six earlier race wins, with strong competition the order of the day. Terrance Ollivierre (Suzuki GSX-R600) won twice, to finish runner-up, while Brook Miller (Suzuki GSX-R600) was the other winner, these two also sharing the three second places.

The battle in Class B was close in every race, Jason Griffin (Yamaha R6) claiming three podiums to snatch the Class B crown from Kevin Wickham (Honda CBR600RR), who had been leading by three points going in to the final round. Ronnie Cooke (Kawasaki ZX6-R) shared the race wins with Marc-Lee Bascombe (Yamaha R6) two-one, placing Cooke third in the standings, as a spread of only 16 points covered the top three at year-end, the closest top three finish of any class on two or four wheels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *