Cycling championships start tomorrow

Some of the region’s best athletes are in Barbados for this weekend’s 15th Caribbean Elite Cycling Championships.

Twenty countries and more than 90 cyclists are scheduled to compete in the championships which have been organized by the Barbados Cycling Union in collaboration with the Pan American Cycling Confederation, the International Cycling Union and the Caribbean Cycling Federation.

Jason Perryman is among several top Barbadian cyclists who will be in action.
Jason Perryman is among several top Barbadian cyclists who will be in action.

All the cyclists are prepared, fit and ready to take to the road. However, it is uncertain whether Guyana’s road race and time trial champion Hamza Eastman will compete in this weekend’s cycling. According to reports out of Guyana, Eastman sustained a hamstring injury while training recently. He told the Guyana Chronicle his doctor had advised him to lighten the load of his training to speed up the healing process.

However, despite the doubts, Eastman still expressed hope that he could recover in time for at least Sunday’s leg of the event. Other members of the Guyana team are Orville Hinds, Alanzo Greaves, Geron Williams and Michael Anthony.

Meanwhile a strong team from the Bahamas is in Barbados for the championship. That team includes Jay Major, Anthony Colebrook, Roy Colebrook Jr, Justin Minns, Chris Curry and D’Angelo Sturrup.

The team will be coached by Barron “Turbo” Musgrove and managed by Keith Lloyd. According to Musgrove, his team is well prepared for this level of competition.

“The team has been putting in the mileage and time in preparation for this event. It has been a long season and they are much more experienced for this level of competition in the Caribbean Championship and therefore have worked hard in preparing themselves to deal with that style of racing,” he said.

Colebrook and Sturrup will compete in the individual time trials while the entire team is scheduled to compete in Sunday’s road race.

Among the other teams to be represented are Anguilla, Aruba, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Bermuda, Curacao, Dominican Republic, French Guyana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Martinique, Puerto Rico, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago and host country Barbados.

Barbados will be represented at the championships by Russell Elcock, Jason Perryman, Darwin Griffith, Jesse Kelly, Edwin Sutherland, Joshua Kelly, Jamol Eastmond, Gregory Vanderpool, Darren Matthews, Philip Clarke, Dominique Marshall and Marrissa Bradshaw.

The events are as follows: Saturday – road individual time trial (women), 7.30 a.m., 24km; road individual time trial (men) 8 a.m., 37.4 km. Sunday – road race (women) 8 a.m., 86.4 km; road race (men), 11.30 a.m., 158.4 km.

The men’s individual time trial circuit will take in Mile & Quarter, St Peter, to Norman Niles Roundabout, St Michael and return. The women’s route will be Mile & Quarter to Redman Village Roundabout, St Thomas and return.

Both men’s and women’s road race will take in the Bushy Park, St Philip circuit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *