Final battle

Warrens and Pinelands to contest Premier League honour

Pearson Griffith scored a game-high 21 points to help Pan American International Insurance Warrens to advance into the final of the Co-operators General Insurance Corporation Barbados Amateur Basketball Association Premier League.

In the third and decisive semi-final playoff match played last night at the Wildey Gymnasium, Warrens and Station Hill Cavaliers needed to win to advance. In the end Warrens came out on top, leading at every interval 18-14, 35-30, 60-58 and finally 81-70 to secure their place in the final where they will meet Orange Three Pinelands who secured their place by defeating Hilton Resort Warriors 2-0 in their best of three series.

Pearson Griffith of Warrens tries to block forward Aamir Morris from taking a shot. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay)
Pearson Griffith of Warrens tries to block forward Aamir Morris from taking a shot. (Pictures by Morissa Lindsay)

Griffith worked Station Hill’s defence that just couldn’t tie the big man down. And whenever they tried to do so, they would give away free throws after frequently hacking the center. Point guard Andre Lockhart who usually dominates the show for Warrens was heavily marked as well but still managed 16.

At the half-way stage Warrens went up five points clear at 35-30 thanks to Adrian Allman who hit a three pointer followed by two from George Farrell who contributed six overall points to the total. This gave Lockhart’s men the advantage going into the penultimate quarter.

Station Hill put up a good fight in the third quarter and Darren Hunte top scored with 16 along with 15 from national forward Aamir Morris, Kevin Sealy had 13 points and there were 11 points each from Jason Smith and Jamal Puckerin.

The battle between  Warrens and Station Hill Cavaliers was an intense one.
The battle between Warrens and Station Hill Cavaliers was an intense one.

It was a good show of resistance from Station Hill as when they were down 41-39 Puckerin netted two to lock the scores at 41. Dario Cumberbatch who ended the game with 13 points for Warrens was fouled and nailed two free throws to make it 43 and then a great pass from Lockhart to Alleyne who scored one of his two three pointers of the game put Warrens up 46.

Then Cumberbatch with his attacking play was fouled and earned two free throws that he scored. This was followed by two points from Pearson to put Warrens on 50 points. Then they progressed to 58 and Allman hit two free throws to put his side on 60. But Station Hill still managed to bring themselves back into it. On 55 points and seconds before the buzzer to end that quarter, Anand Joseph-Thorne scored a three-pointer to put Station Hill on 58 points and a mere two-point deficit heading into the final period.

Warrens quickly increased their lead in the decisive quarter and at and went up 71-67. Station Hill Cavaliers had the perfect opportunity to take the lead through Sealy who scored two points and a free throw
on the play to put Station Hill on 70. Then Sealy was fouled yet again but failed to convert his two free throws and give Station Hill the lead. That’s when Warrens ran away with the game and never relinquished their hold on the game as they booked their place in the finals.

The Division one clash has also been decided and it will be Newbury against Patriots in the final. Newbury secured their place when they defeated Challengers A 60-59 after commanding the first three quarters 12-10, 31-30 and 44-40.

Ryan Maycock top scored with 19 for Newbury along with 15 from Kevin Patterson while Ramon Ward ended on ten points for Challengers. The finals will take place tomorrow at the Wildey Gymnasium from 6 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *