Paradise out

BDF cause major upset in Banks Beer Cup competition

The on-going Banks Beer Cup competition continued last night at various venues around the island and one of the major upsets came when Premier League team Direct TV Paradise were knocked out by division three squad Barbados Defence Force (BDF).

It was a thriller which BDF won 3-0 via penalty kicks when the two sides met at the Glebe, St George pasture. The score was locked 3-3 at the final whistle which led to extra time and at the end of that period it again tied at 4-4 which meant a penalty shoot out to determine who would advance.

Akeem Browne opened the score for BDF in the 17th minute and was back at it again in the second half when he scored in the 61st minute. Shane Codrington added to score in the 76th and Nicholas Best in the 114th minute of extra time. Meanwhile for Paradise  Gregg Mandeville scored in the 33rd minute, Armando Lashley then produced three goals in the 42nd, 67th and 111th minute of extra time.

Browne, Best and Dario Burnham then came back during the penalty shoot-out and scored one goal each for BDF.

The Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme roughed up Haynesville 8-2 thanks to Mario Williams in the 19th minute, Decarlo Jemmott the 23rd while an own goal was scored by Haynesville in the 35th minute. Shaquille Stewart netted in the 49th minute, Kaliel Gill in the 69th, Chai Lloyd in the 74th, Rashad Jules in the 75th and Rashad Smith in the 82nd minute.

For Haynesville De’angelo Ward scored goals in the 32nd and 53rd minutes.

Mackeson Brittons Hill were also in action and they defeated the Barbados Soccer Academy 5-1 when Dwayne Stanford booted home three goals and Walton Burrowes netted two. Dario Greaves scored BSA’s lone goal of the game.

Dwayne Stanford netted a hat-trick against the Barbados Soccer Academy.(FP)
Dwayne Stanford netted a hat-trick against the Barbados Soccer Academy.(FP)

Notre Dame had a comfortable run against Ivy Rovers whom they thrashed 5-1. Dame’s goal-scorers were Akeem Broome in the 12th minute, John Parris in the 22nd, Antonio Corbin in the 34th, Akeem Hill in the 69th and Zico Edmee in the 79th minute.

Dayrells Road got the better of Ellerton 2-1. Ellerton scored on themselves in 26th minute and in 47th Lyden Watson scored for Dayrells Road. Rosean Brathwaite captured Ellerton’s lone goal in the 31st minute.

Parish Land defeated Clarke’s Hill 1-0 compliments of Romario Griffith’s 45th minute penalty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *