Quality entry expected for Rally shakedown

As competitors in the Barbados Rally Club drivers’ and class championships start preparations for the upcoming BRC Shakedown Stages on April 19 – the second of eight rounds this year – there is a three-way tie in the champion driver’s title chase among Edward Corbin, Jeremy Croney and reigning champion Rhett Watson.

Entries for the Shakedown Stages opened today at Motorsport Services in Haggatt Hall, also on-line at www.barbadosrallyclub.com, and will close at 1 p.m. on April 15. The briefing meeting will be at 6.30p.m. on April 16, at the Barbados Clay Target Shooting Association (BCTSA) Club House, Searles, Christ Church, when the running order will be published.

Defending champion Rhett Watson is among the front-runners.
Defending champion Rhett Watson is among the front-runners.

 A quality entry is anticipated for this final shakedown before the LIME King of the Hill and Sol Rally Barbados next month. Leading regional entries, including Jamaicans Jeffrey Panton and Kyle Gregg and Trinidad’s John Powell, have already expressed their intention to compete, boosting the competition in the four-wheel-drive classes, while competitors across the island are working against the clock to have their cars ready.

 Ten special stages are planned at two venues, with the 9.30a.m. start, lunch break and finish (approximately 4 p.m.) at the Greenland Agricultural Station in St Andrew. Scrutineering will be on on April 18, between 2 p.m. and 4.30p.m. at a location yet to be finalised.

 The stage venues are Four Hills to Orange Hill, which will run three times in the morning, alternating with two runs from Collins to Pickerings, St Lucy. In the afternoon, the stages will be reversed, with three runs of Pickerings to Collins and two from Orange Hill to Four Hills.

 The BRC’s points-scoring for the season opened at the Spring Blaze 15 tarmac sprint, organised by the Motoring Club of Barbados Inc last month. Only three BRC classes were fully-subscribed, which has allowed Corbin (Modified 7 Toyota Corolla RunX), Croney (Clubman Peugeot 206XS) and Watson (SuperModified 12 BMW M3) to edge ahead with 15 points each. If there are fewer than three starters in a class, reduced points are awarded.

 A further five drivers are tied on 13 points – Paul Horton from the Turks & Caicos Islands (Ford Escort MkI), Trevor Mapp (Mitsubishi Mirage RS) and Justin Campbell (M3) finished second in M7, Clubman and SM12 respectively, while Wayne Archer (BMW 325) and Neil Corbin, who shared Jonathan Ince’s Daihatsu Charmant for the day, each won an under-subscribed class.

 Roger Hill (WRC-2 Corolla WRC) leads the four-wheel drive standings from Powell (WRC-1 Ford Focus WRC08) and Andrew Mallalieu (GpN Subaru Impreza N10), while Watson finished as top two-wheel drive, ahead of the winners of SM11 and SM10, Andrew Jones (Escort MkII) and Clif Roett (Starlet) respectively.

Source: (RB)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *