McDowall new NUPW president

Thirty-four-year-old Akanni McDowall is the new president of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW).

In an election process that utilized voting machines for the first time, the acting health promotion officer in the Ministry of Health won by a clear margin of 246 votes. He got 593 to beat first runner-up Ronnie Greaves-Thorpe who received 346 votes to fill the shoes of Walter Maloney who is retiring.

Margo Bannister received 189 votes while Danny Gill brought up the rear with 109 votes in the battle for president.

Ministry of Education employee Joy-Ann Inniss was elected first vice president with 549 votes. The other contenders for that position were Charles Bostic who received 461 votes, Richard Carter who got 115 votes and Manasseh King who managed 76 votes.

Second vice president is Fabian Jones, an employee of the Welfare Department while Dr Ricardo Kellman now assumes the office of third vice president.

General treasurer is Asokore Beckles and Roy Greenidge will take up the office of deputy general treasurer.

The NUPW’s acting general secretary Roslyn Smith said 1,294 votes were cast during the election that began at 5:30 a.m. and concluded at 4 p.m. With the use of the voting machines the counting process concluded just after 7:30 p.m.

New NUPW president Akanni McDowall (left) and CTUSAB President  Cedric Murrell.
New NUPW president Akanni McDowall (left) and CTUSAB President Cedric Murrell.

McDowall, who will hold the office for the next two years, promised to look after the interests of all union members and said he would address issues such as appointments for civil servants, the working environment in the civil service, and attracting young people to the union.

One Response to McDowall new NUPW president

  1. Sophia Sandiford April 3, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    Congratulations! I wish you all the best!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *