Karters take the spotlight

Excitement filled the air at Bushy Park as there was plenty close races at the opening round of the Barbados Karting Association’s Frutee-Chefette  2015 season on Sunday.

With the introduction of the new Easy Kart, there were an impressive 30 competitors lining up for the day, including a number of rookies.

One of the highlights of the day came in the Easy Kart 60cc group. With the nine-competitor strong class all newcomers to karting, the young karters thrilled everyone with their impressive display of racing.

There were three different winners on the day –– Sebastian Thompson, Kayleigh Catwell and Kyffin Simpson.

In the end it was Thompson with 92 points who came away with the class victory. Thomspon won the first two races and was second in the ones he did not win.

Second place in the class went to Catwell with 80 points.  She had fourth, third and second place finishes to add to her race three victory.

The battle for third place was a close one with only one point separating Catwell and Kyffin Simpson who finished with 79 points.

These three battled for the lead and traded places during the day much to the delight of the parents and fans looking on.

The standings were completed by Graham Bradshaw with 68 points, Calem Maloney with 59, Dana Bradshaw 58, Colin Bradshaw 52, Sophia Simpson 36 and Daniel Ullyett who was underweight.

In the 310 Class, defending drivers champion Nicholas Gill came under heavy pressure from Kyle Proverbs who was hot on his heels and at times even ahead of him during the four races.

However Nicholas Gill still swept the group with four victories from four races. Proverbs was second with 84 points finishing second in all the races. Making his return was Reginald Gill who finished third with 72 points, while Calvin Bartlett was fourth.

A number of rally drivers also turned out for karting and it was in the Easy Kart 125 cc that they featured the most. Mark Thompson who is a former karting champion, showed he was still a force to be reckon with on the karting track winning all four of his races but lost points on the last one due to an incident.

Thompson finished with 93 points after he was demoted to third place in the final race.

Second place went to Jim Mark with 70 points, while Ian Warren was third with 54 points after he was struck and not able to finish the final race. Simon Wallis was fourth with 42 points after his chain ran off in the final race on the first corner.  Dean Serrao and Alan Bayne brought up the rear respectively.

There was some aggressive driving in the X30 class, with everyone vying for the top spot. In the end it was Ricky Kirton with one point more than Christian Hinds who won the class on the day. Kirton won two races as well as Hinds but Kirton managed to squeeze out 85 points.

Ricky Kirton followed by Christian Hinds and Tremaine Forde Catwell during the karting action.
Ricky Kirton followed by Christian Hinds and Tremaine Forde Catwell during the karting action.

Third place in the class was shared between Tremaine Forde Catwell and Brian Stuart with 60 points each. Fifth was Rico Alkins with 55 and Aiden Fortier was sixth with 50. Only Sean Maloney competed in the shifter class starting at the back of the X30 and Easy Kart 125 clas and making his way to the front.

The two-way battle in the Easy Kart 100cc was also a fantastic one as Zane and Joshua Maloney went at it with hardly any daylight separating them. However in the end it was a fitting result for the two talented drivers as they finished tied with two victories apiece and 92 points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *