All set for BMAs

The red carpet is rolled out and the stage is set for this weekend’s Barbados Music Awards.

Set to take place on Sunday at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, the tenth annual event will feature American powerhouse singer Shirley  Murdock and actor Boris Kodjoe who will co-host with Kirk Brown.

One of the BMA directors, Russel Ruck (right), greets American actor Boris Kodjoe on his arrival to Barbados.
One of the BMA directors, Russel Ruck (right), greets American actor Boris Kodjoe on his arrival to Barbados.

Murdock arrived in the island last night while Kodjoe touched down today.

Ronnie Morris
Ronnie Morris

Barbados TODAY caught up with the show’s producer Ronnie Morris who assured that all systems were go.

“Everything is set. The decor is being set as we speak and we are expecting a very large audience,” he said.

Murdock, who is the headline act for the show, said she was very excited to be in Barbados and could not wait to perform for Barbadians.

“I’m really excited to be here. This is a big event for Barbados and I just feel really honoured to have the opportunity to be here. I hear I have a lot of fans here. I’m really excited to sing for the fans,” she said.

Murdock is best know for her hits And I am Telling You, Husband, and As We Lay.

American singer Shirley Murdock arriving in Barbados last night.
American singer Shirley Murdock arriving in Barbados last night.

Kodjoe is also eagerly looking forward to the BMAs.

The American actor, who has been dubbed The Sexiest Actor Alive by Glamour magazine’s January 2015 issue, told fans they could expect a good time.

“You can expect a lot of dancing and singing. I’ve been a big fan of Caribbean music for a long time so to be a part of an event where the music is celebrated is a great experience for me. Anytime I get the opportunity to come to Barbados I have to take advantage of it. Since you guys invited me I had to accept and it’s a great honour and privilege,” he added.

The who’s who of the entertainment industry are expected to be in attendance to see who among the nominees will go home with awards.

Peter Coppin and Monstapiece are expected to receive a lifetime achievement award.

The awards begin at 8 p.m.

Below is a full list Of The nominees:

Pop/Rock Artist Of The Year


Vita Chambers

Debbie Reifer

Cover Drive


Jazz Artist Of The Year

Arturo Tappin

Elan Trotman

Miles Robertson

NJ 30


Album Of The Year

Caribbean Hott Party – CRS Music And Media & Redd Head Records

All Inclusive – Lil Rick & Platta Recording Studio

Daddy God – Shane Forrester

Meh Rum – Super Lynks & Gorg Drinks

Chronicles Of A Soca Junkie – Mistah Dale

Best New Artist

Faith Callender

Jamal Slocombe

Sammy G

Shane Fresh Greaves

Shaquille Shaq Layne

Rap / Hip-Hop Artist Of The Year


Teff Mayweather


Reggae Artist Of The Year

Empress Roli


Buggy Nahkente

Gospel Artist Of The Year

Shane Forrester

Neesha Woodz

John Yarde

De Warrior



Producer Of The Year

Slam City (Chris Allman & Antonio “Young D” Johnson)

De Red Boyz

Dwain Antrobus

Studio B (Darien Bailey, Kevin “Daddy Bubbles” Marshall & Hector Cesar)

King Bubba & Platta Studios


Nicholas Brancker

Peter Coppin & Monstapiece

Songwriter Of The Year

Lead Pipe & Saddis

Jason Shaft Bishop

Livvi Franc

Studio Engineer Of The Year

Andrew Denny

Nicholas Brancker

Anthony Lowhar

Soca/Calypso Artist Of The Year

Porgie & Murda

Biggie Irie


Ian Webster


Male Entertainer Of The Year


Ian “iWeb” Webster

Kirk Brown

Lil Rick



Mistah Dale

Biggie Irie

Female Entertainer Of The Year

Crystal Cummins-Beckles

Donella Weekes


Alison Hinds

Empress Roli

Soul/R&B Artist Of The Year


Dwane Antonio


Cover Drive


Song Of The Year

Biggie Irie – Pankatang

Sanctuary – Mega Monday

Imani – Bacchanal Road

Leadpipe and Saddis – Ah Feeling

Gorg – My Rum

BMA Band/Group of All Time

Cover Drive

The Merrymen

Spice & Company


Square One

Solo Artist/Musician of All Time (Male)


Edwin Yearwood

Joseph Niles

Lil Rick

The Mighty Gabby

Red Plastic Bag

Charles D. Lewis

Arturo Tappin

Nicholas Brancker

Anderson Armstrong

Solo Artist/Musician of All Time (Female)


Terencia “TC” Coward


Alison Hinds

Sister Marshall


Wendy Alleyne

Carolyn Leacock

Paula Hinds

Toni Norville

Band/Group/Duo Of The Year

Porgie & Murda



Soca Kartel

Cover Drive

Cornerstone Awardees

Acting Inspector
Andrew Lynch

Romancia Murray

Teshia Hinds

Ronnie Clarke

Russell Oliver

Donnella Weekes

Claudia Jack

Music Industry Contribution Awards

Barbados Tourism Authority

Caribbean Media Corporation

McEnearney Quality Inc.



BMA Media Excellence Award – Arturo Valentino

BMA Breakthrough Award – Female- Shanta Prince

BMA Breakthrough Award – Male- Mistah Dale

BMA Dedication Award – Male- Biggie Irie (Sponsored & Presented by Miss Single & Progressive 2014)

BMA Dedication Award – Female- Terencia “TC” Coward (Sponsored & Presented by Miss Single & Progressive 2014)

BMA Award of Excellence – Crystal Cummins- Beckles

BMA Award of Merit – The late Roy Byer

BMA Lifetime Achievement Award – Peter Coppin & Monstapiece

Barbados Music Fashion & Film Awards’ Fashion Honourees

GADAL Model Management Inc.

Stephanie Chase

Walter Richards

Barbados Music Fashion & Film Awards’ Film Award – Film Of The Year – Two Smart

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *