Bajan champs in early line-up for Sol Rally

Current and former Barbados Rally Club (BRC) champions are among the early local entries for  this year’s 25th anniversary running of Sol Rally Barbados.

 In addition to the BRC’s champion driver for 2014, Rhett Watson (BMW M3) and fellow ROC Caribbean winner Dane Skeete, whose participation was confirmed last month, the growing list includes front-runners from a number of the BRC’s 13 classifications.

 In SuperModified 12, Watson’s opposition will include the BMW M3 of David St Hill, while there are currently no further local entries in SM11, where Skeete campaigns his Peugeot 306 Maxi. Multiple circuit-racing champion Mark Thompson is the first local four-wheel-drive entry, in his Group N Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX.

Dane Skeete among the local drivers to grace Sol Rally Barbados this year.
Dane Skeete among the local drivers to grace Sol Rally Barbados this year.

 Former BRC champion driver Neil Corbin – he won the overall title in 2012 – is listed in Modified 6 in the Toyota Starlet in which he won the Class Championship in 2012 and 2013. The opposition will include Paul Inniss in his Honda Civic.

  The M6 champion for the previous two years, Jamal Brathwaite, appears for the third year in his M7 Honda Civic Type-R, while reigning clubman champion Eric Allamby (Toyota Corolla) remains in clubman, where he will face Brathwaite’s father Trevor Mapp, among others, in the Mitsubishi Colt Mivec RS, with which his son used to campaign.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *