Armed Units win first ever street football competition

Armed Units have created history as the first team in Barbados to win the inaugural Guinness Street Football competition.

Playing at the Netball Stadium last night in the men’s final, Armed Units won by virtue of a 2-1 penalty kicks result over All About Money (ABM).

Units had a solid line-up with most of their players from the Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme who won this year’s Barbados Football Association’s Premier League. Their line-up included Captain Kyle Gibson who captured the most goals trophy with 17 in the competition along with Jamal Chandler and Ricardo Morris.

Armed Units celebrate their victory. (Picture by Morissa Lindsay).
Armed Units celebrate their victory. (Picture by Morissa Lindsay).

ABM were made to stand at attention when Armed Units really showed how truly armed they were to take home the $8 000 cash prize up for grabs, and automatic all expenses paid trip to St Lucia to represent Barbados in the 2015 Caribbean Guinness Street Football finals in June, along with brand new smart phones from LIME and the winning trophy.

Commitment, dedication, hard work and togetherness are all factors which led to Armed Units successful outing in the competition said Chandler after losing their opening game against Area 51 only to rebound nicely and to play undefeated in their nine other matches including
the final.

Gibson told Barbados TODAY it was a great feeling to win the first ever street football competition played in Barbados and added that next year they intended to be much sharper.

It was an intense final between the two sides with both teams taking several chances at both ends but failing to score. Both teams gambled at both ends during the 30-minute game but came up empty-handed which resulted in the game ending 0-0 in regulation time.

The ensuing penalty shootout was filled with lots of drama and had supporters on their feet. Each team was allowed four players to play in the game but only three were allowed to shoot penalties. AMB were the first to score in the penalty shoot-out thanks to Jabar ‘Buggy’ Green who rattled the nets with his spot kick to take ABM 1-0.

That was the only goal that ABM however managed to score after Kemar Bartlett and Dwayne Peters kicked wide of the goal bar and missed their chances. With an experienced Chandler in the mix along with Tramane Cobham, the pair became instant heroes on the night for Armed Units when they both booted the ball into the nets for goals.

In the women’s final Tie Dye Divas won 2-0 over Sharp Shooters thanks to goals scored by Tirann Cadogan and Joelle Gibson.

Womens' Street Football champions Tie Dye Divas.
Womens’ Street Football champions Tie Dye Divas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *