Losing champs

St Giles defeat Wesley Hall in opening match

Last year’s champions Wesley Hall Juniors started off their title defence on a losing note, going down to St Giles Primary by 68 runs in the 2014 Guardian Group Herman Griffith Primary Schools Cricket Competition at Dover, Christ Church today.

The King Street, St Michael boys were bowled out for 47 in 11.4 overs, chasing the 115 for 9 posted by St Giles in their allotted 25 overs. Wesley Hall bowlers contributed 53 extras to their opponents’ total, inclusive of 47 wides. Janesh Jaunai took three wickets for 12 runs in the St Giles innings.

Wesley Hall captain Janesh Jaunai bowled well to capture three wickets for 12 runs. (Pictures by Marissa Lindsay)
Wesley Hall captain Janesh Jaunai bowled well to capture three wickets for 12 runs. (Pictures by Marissa Lindsay)

St Giles all-rounder Romario Roach top scored with 19 and took two wickets for nine runs to help his team to their win. None of Wesley Hall batsmen managed to get into double figures.

In other matches played today, St Joseph Primary ‘A’ batsmen failed to reach double figures when they batted first in the Alvin Burgess zone and made 36 all out against Hillaby Turners Hall. Kimani Gilkes captured four wickets for five runs, Andre Archer took three wickets for eight runs and Aaron Brathwaite took two wickets for one run. Hillaby made light work of the target scoring 38 without lost to win by ten wickets.

In the Desmond Haynes zone, Milton Lynch batted first and made 155 for nine from their 25 overs. Johann Layne top-scored with 25 and Isaiah Folkes made 18. St Bartholomew’s could not handle Milton Lynch’s bowling attack and were eventually dismissed for 32 in 15 overs. Folkes got four wickets for two runs, Derek Clarke took two for none and Ethan Welch two for six to give their team a well deserved victory by 123 runs.

Also playing in the Desmond Haynes zone, St Cyprian’s made 103 against St Gabriel’s with Jordan Reifer top-scoring with 58. St Gabriel’s bowlers Simon Knight captured three for 15, Michael Chandler three for 33 and Gabriel Muhaiiri two for 16. St Gabriel’s were only able to make 41 with Chandler top-scoring with 20. Zane Corbin took five wickets for four runs to give St Cyprian’s a 62-run win.

In the Erskine King zone, former champions Bayley’s Primary sent a strong message to all teams in the competition when they posted a massive 181 for four from 25 overs against St Martin’s Mangrove who only mustered 45 all out when they batted. Javon Cummins led the bowling attack for Bayley’s with four wickets for seven runs and Darius Joseph took three for 13 to give Bayley’s an easy win by 136 runs.

In the Sir Wesley Hall zone, Sharon Primary were bundled out for 51 against Eden Lodge Primary. Bowling for Eden Lodge Romario Forde took five wickets for seven runs and Ty Farrell got two wickets for nine runs. Top-scoring for Eden Lodge was Damario Ward who scored 15 not out to contribute to Eden Lodge’s total of 52 for four to win by six wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *