Benn’s day

Spinner’s fourth five-wicket Test haul restricts Kiwis

Left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn continued his good form to bag a five-wicket haul on the first day of the third Test between the West Indies and New Zealand at Kensington Oval today. At the end of play the West Indies who batted for nine overs were 32 without loss with Chris Gayle and Kraigg Brathwaite not out on 18 and 11 respectively. 

The lanky spinner bowled a marathon spell of 26.2 overs to take five wickets for 93 runs as New Zealand were bowled out for 293 in 78.2 overs. Jimmy Neesham who batted at number six kept the innings together with a well compiled 78 in 136 minutes with ten fours and one six off 91 balls.

Pacer Kemar Roach supported Benn with four wickets for 61 runs from 18 overs.

New Zealand captain Brendan McCullum won the toss and  batted after making one change to the team which lost the second Test at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad; left-arm  medium pacer Neil Wagner replacing leg spinner Ish Sodhi.

The home side made two changes to the team that won the second Test in Trinidad, with the towering fast bowler Jason Holder becoming the 299th West Indian to play Test cricket. He was presented with his Test cap by former West Indies fast bowling legend and former captain Courtney Walsh.  Off-spinner Shane Shillingford who missed the second Test due to injury was recalled to the team in place of batsman Jermaine Blackwood.

Roach took two early wickets in the morning session.  He first had opener Hamish Rutherford caught by Shivnarine Chanderpaul at mid-on in the third over for four. Roach struck again in the ninth over when he dismissed Thomas Latham via the lbw route for 14.

Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson took the score to 92 at lunch with Taylor on 34 and Williamson on 40. After the luncheon interval Talyor was caught by Darren Bravo at first slip for 45  off the bowling of Benn. Two overs later Roach took a third wicket when Benn stretched to his full six feet, seven inches height to take a spectacular catch at gully to dismiss Taylor for 45  with the score on 114.

Benn took another wicket when he dismissed  captain Brendon McCullum. The bounce from the tall spinner created problems for most of the Black Caps during his spells from the Joel Garner End.

The orthodox tweaker continued the rout of the Kiwi batsmen with the wicket of B.J Watling who pushed forward to a ball which turned and was caught by Chris Gayle for one with the score on 172 for 7.

He took another wicket when he bowled Tim Southee for 6 with the score on 194. Earlier Southee was given out caught by wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin  by standing umpire Richard Illingworth but the square-leg umpire was not sure if the catch was taken cleanly by the West Indies captain and asked that the decision be referred. After a long review Southee was given not out.

Despite losing four wickets  in the post-lunch session the Kiwis scored 122 runs.

Roach in a third spell after tea took the wicket of Neil Wagner caught by Ramdin for two for his fourth wicket.

This is the 50th Test match being played at Kensington Oval.



New Zealand 1st Innings

T Latham LBW Roach 14

H Rutherford c Chanderpaul b Roach 4

K Williamson c Darren Bravo b Benn 43

R Taylor c Benn b Roach 45

B McCullum* c Darren Bravo b Benn 31

J Neesham run out (Brathwaite/Shillingford) 78

BJ Watling+ c Gayle b Benn 1

T Southee b Benn 6

M Craig not out 46

N Wagner Ramdin b Roach 2

T Boult st Ramdin b Benn 12

Total: 293 All Out (78.2 Overs)

Extras: (b5, lb2, wd1, nb3) 11

Fall of Wickets: 1-17 (Rutherford), 2-28 (Latham), 3-102 (Williamson), 4-114 (Taylor), 5-68 (McCullum), 6-172 (Watling), 7-194 (Southee), 8-258 (Neesham), 9-277 (Wagner), 10-293 (Boult).

West Indies 1st Innings Bowling: J Taylor 11-2-55-0, K Roach 18-2-61-4, J Holder 10-4-24-0, S Benn 26.2-1-93-5, S Shillingford 13-0-53-0.

West Indies 1st Innings

C Gayle not out 18

K Brathwaite not out 11

Total: 32/0 (9 Overs)

Extras: (lb2, nb1) 3

Still to Bat: Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Denesh Ramdin*+, Jason Holder, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Shane Shillingford, Sulieman Benn.

New Zealand 1st Innings Bowling: T Boult 4-2-8-0, T Southee 3-1-10-0, M Craig 1-0-12-0, N Wagner 1-1-0-0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *