Sri Lanka beat India to win title


Kumar Sangakkara guided Sri Lanka to a six-wicket victory over India to win the World Twenty20 in Mirpur and end a run of four defeats in global finals.

Sangakkara, playing his final Twenty20 international, scored 52 not out as Sri Lanka chased down 131 in 17.5 overs.

Some tight Sri Lankan bowling had earlier limited India to 130-4 despite Virat Kohli’s sublime 77 off 58 balls.

Sri Lanka were beaten in the 2007 and 2011 World Cup finals and also lost the 2009 and 2012 World Twenty20 finals.

Sangakkara, and his veteran team-mate Mahela Jayawardene were involved in all four of those disappointments, and this was a fitting way for both players to bow out of international Twenty20 cricket.

The victory was particularly sweet for Sangakkara, who had only scored 19 runs in his previous five innings in the tournament, but oversaw a patient run chase that was finished off in style when Thisara Perera clubbed Ravichandran Ashwin for his third six.

Victory would have made World Cup and Champions Trophy winners India the first team to hold all three world one-day titles.

But their quest was undermined by an underwhelming batting performance that stalled badly after Rohit Sharma drove to short extra cover in the 11th over for 29 to break a partnership of 60 with Kohli.

Yuvraj Singh, so often a destructive batsman in the shorter forms of the game, looked horribly out of touch as he scratched around for 11 runs off 21 balls.

With Kohli starved of the strike, the innings lost all momentum and even captain Mahendra Dhoni could only add four from seven balls after Yuvraj’s tame lob to long off finally brought him to the crease in the penultimate over.

The final four overs, in which Kohli only faced eight balls, yielded just 19 runs before the tournament’s leading run-scorer was run out trying to force a second from the final ball of the innings. (BBC)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *