New teaching appointments


The island has five new primary school principals.

They are Linda Archer, who will assume responsibility for St. Mary’s Primary; Melinese Alleyne, who will be heading the Cuthbert Moore Primary; Monica Walton, who now heads Good Shepherd Primary; Marva McClean who will be principal at All Saint’s Nursery School and Leslie Gamble at St. Catherine’s Primary.

The announcement was made this evening by the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation, which noted that the appointments took effect from September 1.

Meanwhile, five new deputy principals have, from this academic year, been appointed at the secondary level.

The deputies and their assigned schools are as follows: Julia Beckles – Dayrll Jordan Secondary School; Anthony Alleyne – Deighton Griffith Secondary School; Winston Dowrich – Ellerslie Secondary School; Michael Boyce – Frederick Smith Secondary School and Ian Holder – Grantley Adams Memorial Secondary.

Additionally, the ministry also announced that former acting principal at The Lodge School, Vasco Dash has now been appointed to that position.

Deputy Chief Education Officer, Karen Best, in commending the appointees, said that the Ministry was “now moving to fill the vacancies for temporary teachers”.

One Response to New teaching appointments

  1. Nicole October 4, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    Congrats to Mrs Alleyne. She is a fantastic person and an exceptional teacher.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *