Champs start with win

St. Gabriel’s Kyle Lewis scores a penalty past goalkeeper Abraham Guzman.
St. Gabriel’s Kyle Lewis scores a penalty past goalkeeper Abraham Guzman.

Defending champions St. Gabriel’s Primary started the defence of their title in emphatic fashion when they thrashed the People’s Cathedral 6-1 at Blenheim Pasture, St. Michael as action in this year’s Bico-sponsored National Sports Council’s Primary Schools Football Competition got underway across the island.

St. Gabriel’s, playing like champions, constantly threatened the People’s Cathedral back line with goal-keeper Abraham Guzman kept extremely busy from opening whistle to last.

The People’s Cathedral did not lie down and play dead, however, as they frequently went on the attack though having to deal with an obviously better drilled side. Often they were caught on the counter-attack by the very speedy St. Gabriel’s side with Nick Storey, Asher Jean-Pierre and substitute Dillon Williams catching the eye.

Scoring for St. Gabriel’s were Jean-Pierre, Storey, Ethan Bryan, Williams, Ryan Lashley and Kyle Lewis who scored from the penalty spot.McCallum Clarke got a consolation goal via the penalty spot for People’s Cathedral.

Last year’s losing finalists Bay Primary also started the tournament on a positive note at Blenheim when they defeated St. Winifred’s 3-0. Anthony Alleyne netted twice while substitute Kadeem Small scored the third goal.

At Speightstown, Roland Edwards’ Coby Hinds netted twice as his team defeated Half Moon Fort Primary 5-0.

Also scoring for the winners were Emmerson Graham, Darrell Johnson-Griffith and substitute Janas Thorne.St. Mark’s Primary and Bayley’s Primary played to a 2-2 draw at the Hilda Skeene Primary School grounds. Jerome Alleyne and Jaheem Greenidge scored for Bayley’s while Jahmali Edwards and Sham Harding scored for St. Mark’s.

There was a goal rush at Friendship, St. Michael in the clash between Deacon’s Primary and Eagle Hall Primary with Deacons putting five unanswered goals past Eagle Hall’s custodian Kemario Archer. Scoring for the winners were Shaquem Goddard (3), Santro Springer and Shakem Joseph.

Rashad Haynes’ hat-trick led All Saints Primary’s onslaught on Ignatius Byer at Speightstown where the St. Lucy school were beaten 6-0 by their St. Peter neighbour. Also scoring for All Saints was Kyle Cumberbatch and the school also benefited from an own-goal.†Other results were: Mount Tabor 3, St. Margaret’s 1; Cuthbert Moore 2, St. John Primary 0; Workman’s Primary 1, St. Jude’s 0; St. George Primary 3, Ellerton Primary 2; St. Angela’s 2, St. Paul’s 1; Gordon Greenidge Primary 2, Boscobel Primary 0; St. Martin’s Mangrove 3, St. Philip Primary 1; Reynold Weekes 0, Gordon Walters 0; Hilda Skeene Primary 1, St. Luke’s Brighton 0. (WG)††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *