Scripts & scrolls for 16

bdf officers receive queen’s commission

The Barbados Defence Force can now boast of 16 newly-commissioned officers.

In a brief ceremony at Government House yesterday evening, Governor General Sir Elliott Belgrave, presented the Queen’s Commission to the officers and lauded them on their latest accomplishment.

Before an audience that included BDF Chief of Staff, Colonel Alvin Quintyne, and Permanent Secretary responsible for Defence and Security, Edison Alleyne, the Governor General told the newly appointed officers that he expected them to adhere strictly to the admonition in each of the commissions and advised them not to rest on their laurels.

The 16 BDF officers are: Captains Sandra Blackman and Alfred Athelston Taylor; Lieutenants Donville Adderson Dash, Pedro Emmanuel Drakes and David Mac Donald Morgan; Second Lieutenants Shawn Anderson Brome, Krystle Cherise Harvey, Jamel Omar Drakes, Jamel Damien Sobers, Jerome Germaine Belle, Gordon Adrian Maxwell, Cayle Paul Corey Francis-Thornhill, Richmark Lorenzo Deane, Dorian Rondell Best, Tikesia Shondelle Semone Clarke and Zara Triecia Chirone Massiah.

In Commonwealth countries, commissioned officers are given scrolls or scripts, signed by the Sovereign or the Governor General acting on the monarch’s behalf. Upon receipt, this official legal document binds the mentioned officer to the commitment stated on the scroll. (BGIS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *