Karters show off their skills

It was a hot day and a fast track that awaited the best karters in Barbados for Round 10 of the Barbados Karting Association SDRR Motorsports/Cheffette Restaurants Championship at Bushy Park, St Philip on Sunday.

In the Easykart 100 class Adam Mallalieu capped off a brilliant second half of the season. After starting the season with a ride in the Easykart 60 Cadets, Mallalieu graduated to the faster 100s and claimed a podium spot in each of the four second-half race meets. Mallalieu won the second half season championship and finished fifth overall in the Easykart 100s despite only running the final four events. Sebastian Thompson finished first for the full season championship with Graham Bradshaw in second and Dana Bradshaw just edging out Kayleigh Catwell for third place. Catwell pushed hard to the end with some inspired racing.

Charlie Kerridge passes Kyffin Simpson on the final corner.
Charlie Kerridge passes Kyffin Simpson on the final corner.

Kyffin Simpson won the season championship in the Easykart 60 Cadet class but he faced a hard driving Charlie Kerridge in the final race of the year. Kerridge and Simpson battled nose to tail all day on the track with Kerridge winning each of the three races. Race fans were treated to some exceptional driving as the two traded positions back and forth. The crowd cheered the two racers home during the first race as Kerridge made one final pass on the last corner before the home stretch. Kerridge won the day but Simpson won the championship with his second place on the podium.

Stuart Garcia capped off his season with a second place finish in the Easykart 125 Masters class which solidified his championship season. Stuart was all smiles when he realized after the second race that he had the championship in his grasp. Mark Thompson won all three races in the Masters class in blistering fashion, putting up times that made some of the lighter karts look slow. Thompson finished third on the season with Aryton Banister in second place.

Sebastian Thompson emerged as the full season champion in the Easykart 100 category.
Sebastian Thompson emerged as the full season champion in the Easykart 100 category.

In the 125 X30 class former all-round champion driver Christian Hinds put an exclamation point on his season with a perfect three wins in three races. After two frustrating race meets that saw Hinds struggling with engine failures, Ricky Kirton was hot on his heels looking to wrest the championship. But to no avail. Kirton drove hard and pushed and bumped his way towards the front but he could not get past Hinds on this day.

Sacha Sooden and Daryl Clarke drove in the Easykart 125 Light class with Clarke taking the honours. With his second place finish Sooden also finished second overall on the season, passing the idle Aiden Fortier who dropped down to third. Joshua Maloney takes the top spot for the season.

Source: (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *