Ullyett, Miller emerge champions

Geoff Ullyett and Brook Miller are Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc’s (BPMSI) 2016 champion driver and champion rider respectively, following the end of the club’s second season at the Williams Digicel International Race Meet earlier this month.

While the Suzuki Challenge Series will not reach its summer season finale until October 30, more than 100 competitors have already scored points in BPMSI-run Championships.

Geoffrey Ullyett
Geoffrey Ullyett

Ullyett won Group 1/Class 1 on all but one occasion in his Nissan 150Y, giving him a near-perfect score of 218 points (of 225 available) in one of the season’s best-subscribed classes. Gp1/C2 winner Adrian Bailey (Peugeot 205) finishes second overall, with 156 points, while Darren Lashley, who finished second in Gp1/C1 in another 205, finishes third with 141.

Miller rode his Suzuki GSX-R600 to victory in Bikes Class A in five of the nine races run. Despite a tumble in the second race at the International, which left him on the sidelines for the rest of the day, he had done enough earlier in the season to edge out reigning champion Kris Brathwaite (Yamaha R6) by just four points. Terrance Ollivierre (Suzuki GSX-R600) is third, another 29 points adrift.

Brook Miller
Brook Miller

The Bikes Class B title fight was even closer – with 124 points, Ronnie Cooke (Kawasaki ZX6-R) beat Lowrey Worrell (Suzuki GSX-R600) by three points, with Stephon Holder third on his Triumph Daytona. Holder and Ollivierre were respectively the highest points-scorers at the International, while Ollivierre also won the Hilti Handicap Championship for Bikes.

At the International, competitors in Williams Equipment Group 3, Group 4 and the Monster Energy Bike classes scored points within the Seaboard Marine CMRC races, while Percy King Auto Parts Group 1 and Crane & Equipment Group 2 combined to form the biggest grids of the day . . . and some thrilling action ensued.

The first race of the day was red-flagged shortly after the start, as Mark Thompson (Toyota Starlet) stalled and could not move off before the field completed the opening lap; all went smoothly at the restart. Tremaine Forde-Catwell (Daihatsu Charmant) led throughout, also winning Gp2/C1, with Andre Forde (Starlet) claiming Gp2/C2 honours, ahead of some lively action in the Group 1 classes.

Racing at Bushy Park for the first time this year, reigning champion driver Jermin Pope (Honda Civic) was back on the pace, finishing third overall and winning Gp1/C2 from Bailey and Devan McCartney (Honda CRX). In Gp1/C1, seventh overall gave Ullyett his first win of the day, heading home Andre Walcott (Suzuki Swift) and Lashley.

Adrian Bailey and Devan McCartney battling for advantage. (Pictures by Himal Reece)
Adrian Bailey and Devan McCartney battling for advantage. (Pictures by Himal Reece)

The day’s second race was fought out on a streaming wet track, with a number of seasoned campaigners among those caught out by the conditions. McCartney and Bailey were the class of the field, finishing seven-tenths apart, first and second in Gp1/C2, with a hugely impressive drive from Trinidad & Tobago’s Bridget Singh (Civic) netting a well-deserved third place overall and in class. Ullyett’s only defeat of the year came at the hands of Shawn Boxill. The rear-engine, rear-wheel-drive Hillman Imp proved ideal for the conditions, with Boxill powering from 24th on the grid to sixth overall, and Ullyett and Walcott completing the class podium. In Group 2, only Forde and Windell Holmes (Acura Integra) finished.


With the track dry once again, race three was dominated by Forde-Catwell, once Forde had retired. Forde-Catwell took the chequered flag 17 seconds clear of the field, for his second Gp2/C1 win of the day – he had aquaplaned off into the Ws gravel trap in race two – with Holmes second and winner of Gp2/C2.

Behind them, the Group 1 classes produced a rich vein of competition, Singh showing her talents again, this time winning Gp1/C2, ahead of Bailey and Pope. Ullyett was back in control of Gp1/C1, finishing sixth overall, with Walcott second and Nathaniel Munroe (Mini) third.

The BPMSI’s final date of the 2016 season is Sunday, October 30, when the club will join forces with the Barbados Karting Association (BKA) and the Barbados Association of Dragsters & Drifters (BADD) at Bushy Park for an all-day programme of motor sport action running from day into night. 



Source: (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *