Eight Bajans in Test squad

Eight Barbadians have been selected in the West Indies 15-man squad announced today for the three-Test series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

They are captain and fast bowling all-rounder Jason Holder, opening batsman and vice-captain Kraigg Brathwaite, batting all-rounder Roston Chase, wicket-keeper/batsmen Shane Dowrich and Shai Hope, fast bowling all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, pacer Miguel Cummins and left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican.

Jomel Warrican has returned to the Test squad.
Jomel Warrican has returned to the Test squad.

Warrican, the 24-year-old slow left-arm orthodox bowler was the lone addition to the squad that was selected for the last two Tests in the recently concluded series against India. Devendra Bishoo is the other specialist spinner selected for the tour.

Warrican made his Test debut against Sri Lanka at Colombo (PSS) in 2015, but was left out of the Test setup after the match against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Warrican, however, bagged 28 wickets at an average of 18.17 in West Indies’ premier four-day competition for the 2015-16 first-class season to get back into contention.

The inexperienced trio of Miguel Cummins, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel will form the pace attack. Shai Hope, the 22-year-old Barbados opener, and Leon Johnson, who returned to the Test fold by compiling 807 runs for Guyana Jaguars in first-class cricket, will look to make an impact.

Marlon Samuels, the 35-year-old middle-order-batsman, has been retained despite aggregating just 152 runs at an average of 25.33 in the Test series against India and generally showing poor form in the longest form of the game for more than a year.

The opening Test will be a day/night fixture at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, starting Thursday, October 13.

It will be the first time both teams play a Test match under lights using the pink ball.

The other matches are at: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi (Friday, October 21 to Tuesday, October 25) and Sharjah Cricket Stadium (Sunday, October 30 to Thursday, November 3).


Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Leon Johnson, Alzarri Joseph, Marlon Samuels, Jomel Warrican.

Tour schedule:

Friday, October 7 to Sunday October 9: v PCB Patron’s XI – Sharjah Cricket Stadium (day/night)

Thursday, October 13 to Monday, October 17: 1st Test – Dubai International Cricket Stadium (day/night)

Friday, October 21 to Tuesday, October 25: 2nd Test – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Sunday, October 30 to Thursday, November 3: 3rd Test – Sharjah Cricket Stadium

Source: (BCA)

2 Responses to Eight Bajans in Test squad

  1. harry turnover September 27, 2016 at 6:27 am

    Kyle Hope should have been included too.

  2. Phil September 27, 2016 at 6:36 am

    Really and truly I’m sure Courtney could findfive or six more Bajans for the real WI team. We only wasting time with them fellas from down de small islands. Wunna forget then de whole team is Bajans we does beat evuhbody.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *