Windies ‘A’ teams named

Fast-bowler Kemar Roach has been called up to represent a West Indies ‘A’ team named to play in three four-day matches against Sri Lanka next month.

The 28-year-old Barbadian pacer, who last represented the West Indies in January against Australia, has been struggling with injury and general fitness and will be hoping to make an impression against the Sri Lankans in an effort to revive his international career.

Shamarh Brooks to lead the West Indies ‘A’ team.
Shamarh Brooks to lead the West Indies ‘A’ team.

Also included in the squad is Guyana’s Shimron Hetmyer, who captained the West Indies under 19 team that won the ICC under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh in February.

Opening batsman Rajendra Chandrika who was rushed into the Test team without a first-class record of any note, gets an opportunity to restate a claim for a place in the international side.

The prodigal son Kieran Powell has also been included in the four-day squad. Powell had taken a break from regional and international cricket after some issues with the WICB. He had made an attempt at a career in baseball in the United States but that was unsuccessful.

Promising Trinidad and Tobago opening batsman Evin Lewis who recently blasted a century against India in just his second International Twenty20 is also included in the four-day squad.

The four-day squad will be captained by Barbadian middle-order batsman Shamarh Brooks and comprises vice-captain Vishual Singh, Chandrika, Powell, Damion Jacobs, Lewis, Hetmyer, Jahmar Hamilton, Rahkeem Cornwall, Roach, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Keon Joseph, Delorn Johnson and Reynard Leveridge.

The first match will be played from October 4 to 7 at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium. The second match is set for the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium from Octover 11-14 while the third match will be at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium from October 18-21.

Meanwhile, an ODI squad has also been named for the tour.

The squad will be captained by Jason Mohammed and includes Rovman Powell, Andre Fletcher (vice-captain), Kyle Hope, Chadwick Walton,  Andre McCarthy, Assad Fudadin, Veerasammy Permaul, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Damion Jacobs, Delorn Johnson, Ronsford Beaton, Kesrick Williams and Kyle Mayers.

The first ODI is set for October 24 at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, with the second set for the Kurunegala Welegedera Cricket Stadium on October 27.

The final match is scheduled for October 30 at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

Management: Dwain Gill (manager), Graeme West (coach), Rayon Griffith (assistant coach), Vernon K A Williams (physiotherapist), Dinesh Mahabir (data analyst), Zephyrinus Nicholas (strength and conditioning trainer).


October 4 – 7              1st 4-day          R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium

October 11 – 14          2nd 4-day         Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

October 18 – 21          3rd 4-day          Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium

October 24                  1st One-day      Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium

October 27                  2nd One-day     Kurunegala Welegedera Cricket Stadium

October 30                  3rd One-day     R Premadasa International Cricket  Stadium   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *