Racing finale

Championship season ends on october 17

Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) will stage a floodlit finale to its first championship season at the St Philip facility on Saturday, October 17.

In addition to the last of four points-scoring rounds for the BPMSI championship classes on both two and four wheels, the inaugural Summer Season of the Suzuki Challenge Series will reach its climax with a demanding six-race double-header.

Sean Maloney
Sean Maloney

The BPMSI classes will race once in daylight, then twice under floodlights, while the Swift Cup and SR3 Cup will have three races each before and after nightfall . . . and all of this will be topped off by the third and final rounds of the Hilti Handicap Championship for bikes and cars. The Club expects the event to end by around
10 p.m.

Chairman of BPMSI Sean Maloney explained the planning and the impact of an imminent major cycling event on the motoring schedule.

“Once it was confirmed that the Caribbean Elite Road Race Championships would be using the roads around Bushy Park for its 150-kilometre feature event on the Sunday, we needed to think quickly. Rather than attempt to move the date completely, we hit on the idea of ending our season with something completely different. It’s a very unusual way to bring the curtain down, and our competitors have endorsed the plan enthusiastically,” he said.

There is everything to play for as the season draws to a close, particularly in the Suzuki Challenge Series, with a total of 150 points still available in the six-round Summer Season.

In the Swift Cup, Trinidad & Tobago’s Ryan Peyrau leads the standings with 178 points, 21 ahead of Mark Thompson, who is in turn 21 ahead of Jamaica’s David Summerbell Jnr; everyone down to 10th placed Kurt Thompson has a mathematical chance of reaching the top, so close-fought action is anticipated.

Summerbell’s strategic use of the Joker Lap, introduced as an experiment last month, earned him two race wins and propelled him from sixth to third in the standings. The Joker Lap was welcomed by competitors and spectators alike, and will remain a feature of the Swift Cup for the double-header.

In the SR3 Cup, the same 150 points are up for grabs, just over twice the spread across the four race-winners so far. Stuart Maloney leads the table with 224 points, from brothers Mark (202pts) and Sean (196pts), with Guyana’s Mark Vieira, whose pace has improved with every outing, fourth on 173pts.

In the chase for the BPMSI’s first champion driver title, clubman 1 class-leader Jermin Pope has eased ahead of Quincy Jones, who leads Modified Production 1 in his Toyota Starlet.

Pope, who switched from a Toyota Starlet to a Honda Civic last month, has 173 points to Jones’s 169 and, while there are four more drivers with a mathematical chance of winning the title, it is now almost certain to be settled between these two.

Lying second to Pope in C1, Andre Walcott (Suzuki Swift) is third in the overall standings with 125 points, while Tremaine Forde-Catwell (Daihatsu Charmant), who is second to Jones in MP1, is placed fourth on 116.

The C2 leader Adrian Bailey (Peugeot 205) is tied on 113 with SuperSport 3 leader Steve King (Starlet), the last two drivers who could theoretically snatch the title.

As well as acquitting themselves with honour in the CMRC Superstock class, BPMSI’s growing number of bike racers also collected 2015 Championship points.

In Class A, Kris Brathwaite now has 177 points, 38 ahead of Terrance Ollivierre, with Devan McCartney third on 121; all three riding Suzuki GSX-R600s.

In Class B, the title fight is tighter, with Kevin Wickham (Honda CBR600RR) on 118 points, just three ahead of Jason Griffin (Yamaha R6), with Rommel Walton (Honda CRF 450R) third on 106.

Racing starts at 12.30 p.m.

Source: (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *