Barbados finish seventh in golf tourney

Elvis Medford and Carlsen Leacock copped a bronze medal but the Barbados team found the going tough at the just concluded 2015 Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Barbados finished seventh in the overall team standings, with 90 points, where Trinidad and Tobago (134) copped the overall team championship and the Authur Ziadie trophy ahead of Jamaica (132). Puerto Rico (117) finished third and were followed by the Dominican Republic (113) and US Virgin Islands (110).

Carsen Leacock
Carsen Leacock

Medford and Leacock, who contested the mid-amateurs division, played themselves in line for a podium finish over the four rounds of competition but were pipped by Jamaica , for second position, by one stroke on the last day when they posted a 1-over par 73.

Elvis Medford
Elvis Medford

The Dominican Republic took the Ramon Baez trophy, in the mid-amateurs division, with a score of 287, which was three strokes better than second placed Jamaica (290) and four better than the Barbadians (291).

Barbados also appeared competitive in the Seniors division, where Robert Piggott and Michael Haynes, competing for the Francis Steele-Perkins Trophy, were just off the pace for the first three rounds but were pushed back on the last day and finished fourth.

Piggott and Haynes were three shots behind the leaders from Trinidad & Tobago on the final day but were overtaken by teams from the USVI and Jamaica, who posted under-par scores of 68 and 69, while the Bajans posted even-par 72. They finished with 286 over the four rounds while Trinidadians Carlos Baynes Richard Camacho posted 283.

Jamaicans Keith Stein and Radcliff Knibbs and USVI’s Trevor Levine and Conrad Stancliffe were joint second on three under par.

In the Hoerman Cup division, which features the region’s top male amateurs in stroke-play competition, Barbados finished fifth where the team of James Johnson, Julian Jordan, Roger Bostic, Scott Stollmeyer and Donald Leacock grossed 1245 over The Dominican Republic (1210) won the Hoerman Cup and were two strokes better than Jamaica (1212) after both went into the final day sharing the lead. Puerto Rico (1225) finished third while Trinidad & Tobago (1235) were fourth.

Jamaica were steered to their silver medal in the Hoerman Cup by the outstanding play of Jonathon Newnham, who was the only golfer to post two under-par rounds in the championship. He had scores of 73, 71, 71 and 75 to end on 290, just two strokes ahead of second place Radhames Pena (294) of the Dominican Republic. Puerto Rican Jeronimo Esteve (298), Devaughn Robinson (299) of Bahamas and James Johnson (301) of Barbados completed the list of top five players in the Hoerman Cup.

Among the women, the USVI upstaged other highly favoured teams to capture the George Teale Memorial Trophy as Amira Alexander emerged as the outstanding female of the championships.

She posted a two-under-par 70 on the final day and, behind earlier scores of 77, 74 and 79, took the USVI to the major victory. Team Puerto Rico were second and Trinidad and Tobago, third.

The other leading female players were Karina Sanchez of Dominica Republic (306), Puerto Ricans Valeria Pacheco (309) and Yudica Rodriquez (310) and Ysabelle Lawrence of Trinidad & Tobago (311).

The Higgs & Higgs Trophy, contested by players over 60 years, was shared by Bahamas and Jamaica.

Nine Caribbean countries –– Bahamas, Barbados, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks and Caicos and the US Virgin Islands –– contested the 2015 Championships which were played at the Cinnamon Hill and Half Moon courses.

Source: (BB)   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *