Professional League draft tomorrow

Six players with Test match experience have been included in the list of 90 entered in the Player Draft of the West Indies Cricket Board Professional Cricket League.

The Player Draft, which has been organised with the goal of achieving an equitable distribution of the available player talent in the Regional 4-Day and NAGICO Super50 tournaments, takes place tomorro at the Accra Beach Hotel at 1 p.m.

The WICB announced yesterday the pool of players who will be in the Draft and fast bowler Tino Best, wicketkeeper/batsman Carlton Baugh Jr, batsman Kirk Edwards, left-arm spin bowling all-rounder Ryan Hinds, opener Xavier Marshall and left-handed opener Omar Phillips head the list, which also includes five other players with international playing experience.

Tino Best wants his cash.
Tino Best
Kirk Edwards on the drive during his century.
Kirk Edwards

The other players with international credentials are openers Miles Bascombe and Nkrumah Bonner, as well as off-spin all-rounder Royston Crandon, batsman Danza Hyatt and left-arm spinner Garey Mathurin.

Each of the six franchises in the PCL will select five players –– including a minimum of two from outside their home territory – to add to the ten players which they have already retained for a minimum squad complement of 15.

The six franchises in the League shall participate in the Draft through the Chairman of Selectors or Head Coach.

With the selection order for the Player Draft the reverse order of the final league position of the franchise in the 2014-15 WICB PCL Regional Four-Day Tournament, Leeward Islands Hurricanes will make the opening selection.

They will be followed by current NAGICO Super50 champions Trinidad & Tobago Red Force, then the Jamaica Franchise, Windward Islands Volcanoes, Barbados Pride and reigning Regional Four-Day champions Guyana Jaguars.

This sequence will be repeated for each of the five rounds of draft picks. Each franchise must pick a player in each round and will have two minutes to select the player. Where a selection is not made within the stipulated time, the offending franchise will miss their turn and must wait until all other franchises have made their selection in that round before making its selection.

A total of 30 players will be drafted. The remaining players will be available for Pay-For-Play contracts at the discretion of the various franchises.

Source: (windiescricket)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *