Passage United champions again

Fusionz Boutique Passage United are once again the champions of the Inspire Sports under-13 cricket competition.  They won their fourth title yesterday with a convincing 66-run victory over first-time finalists Police Juniors at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic Ground.

Passage United had won the first three years but lost the last three editions.

Chasing 162 to win from 35 overs, Police Juniors folded for 95 in 24.4 overs with no batsman reaching 20.

Rashawn Worrell who shared the new ball and was unsuccessful, later returned to grab four for 28 with his off-breaks.  He was ably supported by Jayden Hoyte and Baggio Worrell with two wickets each for 10 and 20 runs respectively.

Earlier, Passage United opted to bat first and reached 161 for eight from their quota of 35 overs. Player-of-the-Match Corey Hoyte made an enterprising run-a-ball 47 spiced with five fours to give his side something to defend.

Off-spinner and captain Shamar Forde took three for 25 from his seven overs.

Summarised scores:

Fusionz Boutique Passage United – 161- 8  in 35 overs (Corey Hoyte 47, Micaiah Hoyte 23, Rivaldo Clarke 17, Rashawn Worrell 16, Aaliyah Alleyne 12; Shamar Forde 3-25).

Police Juniors – 95 all out in 24.4 overs (Shamar Forde 15, Cody Scott 14, Antonio Morris 12; Rashawn Worrell 4-28, Jayden Hoyte 2-10, Baggio Worrell 2-20). Passage United won by 66 runs.  Player-of-the-Match: Corey Hoyte.

Honour roll:

Most wickets: 22- Corey Hoyte (Passage United).

Fielder most catches:  9- Romario Alleyne (St. Catherine Juniors).

Wicket-keeper most dismissals: 12 – (6 catches & 6 stumpings)- Rivaldo Clarke (Passage United).

Best all- rounder: 300 runs, 15 wickets & 3 catches- Hans Campbell (Franklyn Stephenson Academy).

Highest Individual score: 100 not out – Antonio Morris (Police Juniors vs North Stars Juniors).

Best- bowling analysis: – 8/14 Joshua-Daniel Hoyte (Wildey Juniors vs The Mill Wall Saints).

Zone A winners: Franklyn Stephenson Academy.

Zone B Winners:  Co-operators General Insurance St. Catherine Juniors.

Most improved team: Police Juniors.

MVP: 286 runs, 12 dismissals & 5 wickets – Rivaldo Clarke (Passage United).



2009 Passage United    Carlton Juniors

2010 Passage United    Carlton Juniors

2011 Passage United       Wanderers Juniors

2012 Dover Juniors     Passage United

2013 Dover Juniors     Passage United

2014 Carlton Juniors    Passage United

2015 Passage United     Police Juniors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *