WI Women’s squad named

A predictable 14-member West Indies Women’s squad has been named for the imminent tour to Australia.

The tour, starting later this month, comprises four Twenty20 Internationals and four One-Day Internationals, the first three of which will count towards the ICC Women’s Championship.

The IWC is a multi-year, bilateral competition between the top eight international women’s sides that will lead to qualification for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup to be hosted by the England & Wales Cricket Board.

All of the players in the squad, except fast bowler Subrina Munroe, played in the just-concluded home series against New Zealand Women. Munroe, the Guyanese right-hander, last played for the West Indies in February during their disastrous tour of New Zealand.

The team will once again be led by wicketkeeper/batter Merissa Aguilleira who will have Stafanie Taylor as her deputy.

The squad is set to depart from Barbados on October 14, arriving in Sydney on October 17, where they will begin a ten-day training camp.

Kycia Knight (left) and captain Merissa Aguilleira, seen here getting in net practice,  will be among those leaving for Australia shortly.
Kycia Knight (left) and captain Merissa Aguilleira, seen here getting in net practice, will be among those leaving for Australia shortly.

Meanwhile Cricket Australia have included elite players Ellyse Perry and Jess Cameron in a strong 12-member squad to face the West Indies Women in two warm-up Twenty20 matches.

The two matches will precede the Commonwealth Bank International Women’s Series between the two teams which runs from November 2 to18.

“Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars players Ellyse Perry and Jess Cameron have been included in the squad to provide them with further match practice following interrupted preparation due to their respective injuries,” said chairperson of selectors Julie Savage.

She continued: “The matches will also provide further elite competition for Delissa Kimmince and Megan Schutt.”

Though only 23, Perry has emerged as the leader of the Aussie seam attack and has already played five Tests, 60 ODIs and 59 T20Is.

Cameron, meanwhile, is a solid middle-order batsman who bowls leg-spin and can also keep wicket and has played three Tests, 48 ODIs and 55 T20Is.

They will be joined by rookies Kimmince and Schutt, both of whom have played only a handful of international matches.

The Australia XI will face West Indies Women in the first match at Stirling Oval in Canberra on October 21st and again a day later at Manuka Oval.

“The tour matches will provide an excellent opportunity for the next tier of T20 talent in the country to test themselves against one of the most dynamic teams in women’s cricket,” Savage said.

West Indies squad: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Stafanie Taylor (vice-captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, Shaquana Quintyne, Tremayne Smartt, Shakera Selman

Team management: Sherwin Campbell (head coach), Ann Browne-John (manager), Ezra Moseley (assistant coach),

Janel Springer (physiotherapist), Shannon Lashley (fitness trainer), Trent Sargeant (video analyst).

Aussie select team: Ellyse Perry (captain), Jess Cameron (vice-captain), Jemma Barsby, Nicola Carey, Rhiannon Dick, Grace Harris, Emma Inglis, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Angela Reakes, Megan Schutt, Kara Sutherland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *