BLP discusses the way forward

Barbados Labour Party (BLP) parliamentarians were meeting up to late this evening on the way forward following last week’s sudden resignation of former leader Owen Arthur from the party.

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley reportedly convened the meeting of the full parliamentary group.

When a Barbados TODAY team arrived at the party’s headquarters on Roebuck Street, the City before the 3 pm meeting, the 12 parliamentarians who turned up declined to speak on the matter.

Up to the start of the meeting, only St Andrew MP George Payne was a no-show.

St Michael South East MP, Santia Bradshaw, was the first to arrive just before the scheduled start, quickly followed by General Secretary of the party,                               Senator Dr Jerome Walcott.

St James Central MP Kerrie Symmonds, St Michael East MP Trevor Prescod, Christ Church West MP Dr Maria Agard, St Joseph MP Dale Marshall, St Michael North MP Ronald Toppin, MP for the City Jeffrey Bostic, St Thomas MP Cynthia Forde and Opposition Leader, Mia Mottley, St George South MP Dwight Sutherland, and St George North MP Gline Clarke subsequently turned up.

A day after last Thursday’s BLP-led march to protest the controversial municipal solid waste tax, Arthur showed up at the BLP headquarters with his resignation from the party.

He told reporters that while his decision was not easy, he had to take it because the party he led for 17 years had lost its direction and its soul.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *