Junior Monarch contestants draw for the finals

Princess Mighty Make’da Thomas will be the first out of the blocks in the eight to 12 category, on July 19, when the Scotia Bank Junior Calypso Monarch Finals are held at the Wildey Gymnasium.

She will be followed by Raanan Raanan Hackett, Liana Black Beauty Ifill, Jade Grant, Trezelle Jatanya Alleyne, Karia
Star-Fire Campbell, Keonai Kiki Boo Walker and Asher Dynamo Murrell, bringing up the rear. The reserve is Asha Sugar Apple Holder.

In the 13 to 18 category, Kymorhi Mighty KT Trotman will open the batting, followed by Teri Sparkle T WIlliams-Niles, Jamal Slocombe, Rickardo RJ Reid, Samantha Sammy G Greaves, Daryan DJ Jordan, Moesha Nubian Queen Daniel, Adela Ah-Dee-Lah Payne and Chad De MC Montplasir,

Last Saturday’s night’s semifinals saw for the first time in as many years, seven males moving onto the final round next weekend.

Chief Executive Officer of the National Cultural Foundation Cranston Browne has expressed satisfaction with the quality of music coming from the junior competition.

“The future of social commentary in Barbados is secure, these young entertainers have a firm foundation,” Browne said.

He added: “There are plans in place to develop Sweet Soca and Party Monarch music at the junior level but costs prohibited it this season but that is still our goal.”


Source: (DB)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *