News Feed

October 24, 2016 - Police probe death at Golden Ridge, St George Police are investigating the sudden ... +++ October 24, 2016 - Possible funding for NGOs The Division of Economic Affairs ha ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Barbados welcomes MV Viking Star The MV Viking Star docked for the f ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Griffith wins BLP nomination in St John   Charles Griffith will repres ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Hudson Griffith withdraws from BLP nomination for St John seat     As supporters of the ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Chelsea thrash Mourinho’s United 4-0 Source: AFP- LONDON, United Kingdom ... +++

On to the next round

St Gabriel’s have booked their place in the next round of 16 in the BICO-sponsored National Primary Schools Football Competition after defeating Wills Primary 2-1 at Briar Hall, Christ Church today.

The former four-time champions of the competition have played unbeaten so far.

Wills Primary opened the scoring in the first-half when Sebastian Thompson sent in a corner kick into the box and striker Abiola Grant headed in the ball but was denied by Wills’ goalkeeper Mario Lavoui. However, striker James Adam was there for the rebound and scored with a ferocious shot at goal to give his team the lead.

The score was levelled in the first half when St Gabriel’s midfielder Kyle Lewis sent in a throw from the left to midfielder Alex Dent who volleyed the ball sweetly into the back of the nets.

St Gabriel’s would take the lead going into the second half when Kyle Lewis received an accurate pass from Ryan Lashley and slammed a left-footed shot into the goal bars.

The second half saw both sides searching to take the initiative. Wills had their main striker Abiola Grant working the ball up the field seeking that all important goal but St Gabriel’s strategy was to ensure  they marked Grant’s every move and thwart her threat. They succeeded in doing this and earned a well deserved victory.

Milton Lynch Primary thrashed their rivals St Bartholomew’s Primary 3-1 in a match also played at Briar Hall today. Milton Lynch opened the scoring through midfielder Shakobe Brathwaite who curled a shot beautifully from just outside the 18-yard box past St Bartholomew’s goalkeeper Rickobi Lewis.

Milton Lynch striker Zakwon Jones looks to cross the ball while St Bartholomew’s Kaylon Pilgrim charges from behind.

Milton Lynch striker Zakwon Jones looks to cross the ball while St Bartholomew’s Kaylon Pilgrim charges from behind.

St Bartholomew’s would level the score in the first half when striker, Tyreeke Rice assisted left wing Kaylon Pilgrim with a pass from the right of the field and Pilgrim scored on the 18 yard line.

The second half resumed and Milton Lynch took the lead when left wing Damien Matthias delivered an accurate pass to defender Rashon Marshall from the left and he shot the ball into the goal bars past Lewis.

The boys in green and white would stamp their authority when Brathwaite once again found striker Zakwon Jones who ran through the middle of the field and volleyed the ball straight into the bars to produce what was a gem of a goal.

St Angela’s continued to perform well in the competition and today they defeated St Lawrence Primary 3-0. The lads in red and white opened the scoring in the first half through midfielder Seth Edwards who ran on to the ball and delivered a direct shot into the left corner of the goal bars to take a 1-0 lead going into the second half.

St Angela’s striker Aren Spencer (left)  goes after the ball with aggressive intent.

St Angela’s striker Aren Spencer (left) goes after the ball with aggressive intent.

Jalen Johnson who has played well throughout the tournament for St Angela’s was fouled outside the box which was rewarded as a penalty. Johnson then stepped up to take the spot kick and scored.

Johnson was in action once again when he ran up the left flank and made a pass to Edwards who found right wing Che Millington who tapped the ball past the keeper to score in the dying stages of the game.

St Winifred’s and Arthur Smith Primary played to a 2-2 draw in what was a thrilling encounter.

St Winifred’s defender Thierry Forde slides to clear the ball away from Arthur Smith's goal scorer Chad Nicholas.

St Winifred’s defender Thierry Forde slides to clear the ball away from Arthur Smith’s goal scorer Chad Nicholas.

St Winifred’s began their quest when midfielder Axel Funk sent in a cross from the left to striker Daniel Gibbs who scored by neatly placing the ball to the left of the keeper.

Arthur Smith pulled things back when Jaheim Wilson coming in from the right sent in a cross and unfortunately for St Winifred’s one of their players helped the ball into the goal-bars to level the score going into half-time.

When the second half resumed the ball was handled inside the box by Arthur Smith. Funk stepped up to take the penalty for St Winifred’s and made no mistake with his strike.

Striker Chad Nicholas however saved the day for Arthur Smith when he collected a clever pass from midfielder Jonathan Johnson and scored.

St Christopher Primary had every reason to smile when they held on to a 1-0 win over Vauxhall Primary who had a difficult tournament. That goal came about when striker Jelano Jones was brought down inside the box in the first half of play and midfielder Chae Bynoe converted the penalty.

Other results today: Luther Thorne 5, St Ambrose 0; Bay Primary 0, Mount Tabor 0; Providence 1, St John 0; St. Judes 4, Hilltop Preparatory 0; Cuthbert Moore 7, St George 0. (ML)

One Response to On to the next round

  1. Paula-Anne Moore June 4, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Great news item! Thank you for your continued excellent coverage of the BICO Football tournament!! Just wondering: there is a photo involving the St Gabriel’s/Wills BICO Football match that is not showing when you click on the article to read the full news item. It is only showing in the headline of the article. How can you see it?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *