Four leading in chess championship

Nitin Mahtani is among the chess leaders.
Nitin Mahtani is among the chess leaders.

After two rounds of the second qualifier for the 2013 National chess championship finals, four players are in the lead from the more than 30 competitors involved.

These leading players are veteran Othneil Harewood, Asabi Layne, former under 16 champion Lawrence Depradine and Nitin Mahtani of Harrison College.

Harewood defeated current Under-12 champion Kyle Sandiford in round 2, Layne defeated The Lodge School’s Shaquan Jones, Depradine won from Nicollo Walrond and Mahtani had the result of the round when he defeated national junior player and his many years senior Jakeel Harewood.

Also in round two, the top seed Bryan Prescod of The Lodge School was held to a draw by current ladies national champion Katrina Blackman in a game where she held a slight advantage at the end of proceedings. Another drawn game was between Jerome Harewood and Mark Lowe. All these players now sit a half-point behind the leaders on one and a half points and will be looking to move up, as they are only five guaranteed spots from this qualifier.

Other players winning in the second round were Christopher Boyce, Donna Forde-Murray, Nellon Collymore, Justin Parosns, Steven Lucas, Corrine Howard, Michael Barker, Royston Hoyte and Lydia Nurse.

The chess action will continue tomorrow at the Bridgetown Chess Center, Cavans Lane, Bridgetown and the top games will see Mahtani taking on Othneil Harewood, while Layne takes on Depradine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *