Ramdin dropped

sportsdeneshramdindroppedDespite poor performances by the regional side in the just concluded tri-series including Sri Lanka and India, West Indies selectors have made only one personnel change for the series against Pakistan, dropping wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin from the squad for the first two ODIs in Guyana on Sunday and July 16.

Fast bowler Ravi Rampaul, who injured his ankle in the opening match of the series a couple of weeks ago, remains sidelined.

Ramdin has hit only one half-century since his recall to the West Indies one-day side in October 2011, and has been dropped in several recent matches, both during the Champions Trophy and the home tri-series. In Ramdin’s absence West Indies used opener Johnson Charles behind the stumps, and haven’t picked any specialist wicketkeeper in the squad.

Two under-achievers can consider themselves lucky to still feature in the line-up. Kieron Pollard, stand-in captain in two of the tri-series matches, has been retained despite scoring three ducks in his last four innings. Opener Devon Smith, who also registered two ducks during the series, has also been retained despite continuing to look out of his depth at the international level.

West Indies haven’t had too much success in the one-day format over the past 12 months, having lost away to Bangladesh and Australia besides a disappointing Champions Trophy campaign. They were also knocked out of the home tri-series before the final, and their only recent series win is the home victory over lightweights Zimbabwe.

They will be looking to improve that record against Pakistan in the five ODIs and two Twenty20s. The matches will be played at the Guyana National Stadium. The series will also mark the return of international cricket to Guyana after a one year absence.

The last three ODIs will be played at the Beausejour Cricket Grounds in St. Lucia. The Arnos Vale Cricket Ground in St. Vincent will host the two Twenty20 Internationals on July 27th and 28th to conclude the tour.

The West Indies will arrive in Georgetown on Friday. They will have a full training session on Saturday morning at the Guyana National Stadium.


Team: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Devon Smith


Match Schedule

ODIs start at 9 am | T20s start at 2 pm

Guyana National Stadium, Guyana

Sunday July 14 – First ODI

Tuesday July 16 – Second ODI

Beausejour Cricket Ground, St Lucia

Friday July 19 – Third ODI

Sunday July 21 – Fourth ODI

Wednesday July 24 – Fifth ODI

Arnos Vale Cricket Ground, St. Vincent

Saturday July 27 – First T20 International

Sunday July 28 – Second T20 International (WG/windiescricket)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *