Twenty-two selected for U19 rugby squad

Twenty-two players have been selected by the Barbados Rugby Football Union to represent Barbados in the 2013 Under-19 Caribbean Rugby Championships to be held in Trinidad & Tobago.

This year’s North America Caribbean Rugby Association Men’s U19 XV’s Championship tournament takes place from July 6 to 13. At stake is the NACRA Cup, and bragging rights for the hotly contested regional competition.

The Barbados team have been training for the last few months and have had several practice games against senior national squad players in which they have performed better than expected. The national squad will leave Barbados early on Sunday and return home on July 14.

The squad comprises: Roger Bailey (Combermere School), Joshua Best (Combermere School, Emperors RFC), Kean Blackman (St. Michael’s School, Emperors RFC), Nikolie Bonnet (Princess Margaret School), Dorian Browne (Combermere School), David Burke (St. Michael’s School, Emperors RFC), Kofi Chase (Harrison College, UWI), Dario Clarke (Harrison College), Stefan Corbin (Combermere School, Emperors RFC), Nick Daniel (Queen’s College, Emperors RFC), Conrad Edgar (Enfield Ignatians RFC, UK), Isaac Ellcock (Mill Hill School, UK), Akeem Harding (Combermere School, Emperors RFC), Arron Harding (Princess Margaret School), Dario Howard (Combermere School), Shane Howard (Lester Vaughan School), Daniel Johnson (Lodge School) Daniel Ramsay (BIMAP, Emperors RFC), Shane Taylor (Harrison College, Scorpions RFC), Mikyle Walcott (Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic, Emperors RFC), Brandon Walcott (Renegades RFC), Darien Walcott (St. Leonard’s School).

Barbados are in Pool B and will face Mexico on July 8, and host nation Trinidad and Tobago on July 10. Other participants (in Pool A) are NACRA Cup defending champions Cayman Islands, Bermuda and Jamaica, with newcomers Turks & Caicos Islands, Bahamas, Guyana and St. Lucia competing for the inaugural NACRA Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *