CPL divulge team names

Organisers of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League today announced the names under which the six franchises in the tournament will compete. The logos were also revealed.

“We are thrilled with the final team names and the logos; we believe they are reflective of the character and culture of each country and I’m sure each team will live up to their name. Our fans had some very inspired suggestions which were taken into consideration, and definitely contributed to the creative process which resulted in these names,” CPL chief executive officer Damien O’Donohoe said.

Antigua will go by the name Antigua Hawksbills. Barbados fans will be cheering for the Barbados Tridents. Guyana will go by the moniker Guyana Amazon Warriors. The Jamaican franchise will be known as the Jamaica Tallawahs. Tallawah is a Jamaican term for something or someone who is sturdy, strong and not to be underestimated. St Lucia will be the St. Lucia Zouks. Trinidad and Tobago will be called the Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel.

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League gets underway on July 30 in Barbados when the Barbados Tridents take on the St. Lucia Zouks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *