News Feed

October 28, 2016 - Employees pampered As Education Month draws to a close ... +++ October 28, 2016 - ‘Take big view of agriculture’ GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands– Sta ... +++ October 28, 2016 - NUPW reacts to Lowe’s comments on privatization The island’s largest public secto ... +++ October 28, 2016 - BUT warns of new militant approach The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT ... +++ October 28, 2016 - Cameron expresses confidence in Windies women KINGSTON, Jamaica – West Indi ... +++ October 28, 2016 - Expect victimization! Opposition Leader Mia Mottley last ... +++

CPL signs first franchise

Guyana franchise partner Dr Ranjisingh ‘Bobby’ Ramroop (left)and CPL CEO Damien O’Donohoe.

Guyana franchise partner Dr Ranjisingh ‘Bobby’ Ramroop (left)and CPL CEO Damien O’Donohoe.

With just over seven weeks to go until the inaugural Caribbean Premier League kicks off, CPL Ltd today announced the signing of its first franchise agreement on behalf of Guyana.

The franchisee is well known Guyanese businessman Dr. Ranjisingh ‘Bobby’ Ramroop, owner of the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation. The final agreement with Dr. Ramroop was signed just yesterday in Guyana with CPL officials.

This announcement comes hot on the heels of the recent selection of the new franchise based teams that took place on June 5 in Montego Bay.

Headquartered in Guyana, New GPC Inc. has been operating for ninety years and is the Caribbean’s oldest and largest pharmaceutical manufacturer of generic pharmaceuticals, over-the-counter cosmetics preparations and veterinary products of the highest quality.

Dr. Ramroop was very excited about what is to come as the new owner of the Guyana franchise.

“The CPL is just what we needed in the Caribbean and in Guyana. This tournament and my companies’ investment will help to develop cricket talent and also stimulate economies across the region,” said Ramroop.

“We are elated to be part of this inaugural year and look

forward to the growth and development of CPL which we believe will be the envy of the cricketing world.”

Guyana’s franchise players are West Indian Sunil Narine and Pakistan player Mohammed Hafeez. They are joined by players drafted on Wednesday – Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, James Franklin, Chris Barnwell, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, William Perkins, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine and Veerasammy Permaul.

“We are thrilled to have Dr. Ramroop and his group of companies as part of the CPL,” Damien O’Donohoe, CPL CEO said.

“It is clear that he understands our vision and what we want to achieve. We appreciate the enthusiasm he brings and we believe that Team Guyana will benefit greatly from his support.”

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League starts on July 30 in Barbados and concludes on August 24 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *